Research Guides: Introduction to Areas of Study (HC): Psychology and Neuroscience

News and Blogs

ScienceDaily- Mind & Brain
Features research from journals, academia, industry and government sectors. Links to original journal article and ready-to-use citation for the news story.
PsycPORT™: Psychology Newswire
PsycPORT is a American Psychological Association (APA) news service.
Neuroscience in the News (Society for Neuroscience)
Psychology Today's Index of Blogs
Psychologists and psychiatrists are contributors to a large number of blogs grouped by topics and hosted by Psychology Today.
Science News
Science News online features daily news, blogs, feature stories, reviews and more in all disciplines of science.

Encyclopedias

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by Irving B. Weiner (Editor); W. Edward Craighead (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780470170243
Publication Date: 2010-01-26
Comprehensive, accurate, accessible, and up to date information on all the subfields of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and neuroscience
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by Brian Hopkins (Editor); Elena Geangu (Editor); Sally Linkenauger (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781316216491
Publication Date: 2017-10-26
Comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting.
Encyclopedia of Human Memory by Ph.D., Annette Kujawski Taylor (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1440800251
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
Covers the major theories and findings associated with our understanding of human memory and some of the crippling disorders associated with memory malfunction.
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience by Larry R. Squire (Editor-In-Chief)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0080450466
Publication Date: 2008-11-14
Explores various areas of the neuroscience on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of the discipline.

CogNet Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of e-books and journal articles in the brain and cognitive sciences.
AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates and links to related websites in all areas of science and technology. Covers 2000-present.

Literature Reviews

Oxford Handbooks in Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly review articles that provide an in-depth overview of topics in psychology, as well as authoritative guidance, directing you to further related content. A great place to begin your research.

Oxford Bibliographies. Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies for this multidisciplinary subject area including historical, cultural, political and literary interpretations of specific topics. Short encyclopedic entries accompany the annotated bibliographies describing the most important books, articles, and other resources on each topic.
Annual Review of Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature and research reviews can give you an overview of scholarly issues and perspectives as well as titles of important books and journal articles. Search by topic or browse.
The Psychological Bulletin
- This link opens in a new window
Psychological Bulletin ® publishes evaluative and integrative research reviews (both qualitative and quantitative) and interpretations of issues in scientific psychology. Integrative reviews or research syntheses focus on empirical studies and seek to summarize past research by drawing overall conclusions from many separate investigations that address related or identical hypotheses.
The Psychological Review
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes articles that make important theoretical contributions to any area of scientific psychology.
Social and Personality Psychology Compass
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes issues monthly devoted to original, peer-reviewed surveys of current research in social psychology and personality studies.

Journal Indexes

PsycINFO is the most important subject-specific databasefor finding peer-reviewed articles in the behavioral sciences. Databases harvest authoritative information on a regular and timely basis, give information a structure to pinpointing where various pieces of information resides, outfit them with a smart search interface that allows for results filtering, making information easy to find. For example, in PsycINFO you can refine results by empirical articles or literature review articles, saving you time. All databases are equipped with tools to help you manage your results such as saving and citing your search results.

PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essential database of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology and related behavioral sciences from 1887 - present.
Includes PsycARTICLES journals.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free database of biomedical and related life and behavioral sciences journal articles. Includes MEDLINE index and links to PubMed Central open access articles when available.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.

Major Journals

Behavioral and Brain Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
BBS is the internationally renowned journal with the innovative format known as Open Peer Commentary. Particularly significant and controversial pieces of work are published from researchers in any area of psychology, neuroscience, behavioral biology or cognitive science, together with 10-25 commentaries on each article from specialists within and across these disciplines, plus the author's response to them.
Trends in Cognitive Sciences (TiCS)
- This link opens in a new window
Trends in Cognitive Sciences (TiCS) provides succinct updates, opinions, and discussions on the most exciting current research in all aspects of cognition, the mind, and the brain. All articles are peer-reviewed.
Haverford users should email the science librarian for help with obtaining articles from this journal.

Professional Associations

Professional organizations are rich sources of accessible information for key topics in the discipline, industry news, and career-related information. Check on these sites for conferences, events and career development opportunities.

American Psychological Association
Established in 1892, there are now 130,000 members who hold doctoral level degrees in psychology or related field. APA's mission includes expanding psychology's role in advancing health and increasing recognition of psychology as a science.
American Psychiatric Association
The American Psychiatric Association (APA) is the largest professional organization of psychiatrists 36,000 members. It publishes Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) which codifies abnormal behaviors for diagnosing mental disorders.