Introduction to Areas of Study (HC)

Important resource for the natural sciences and the social sciences. Consists of 67 journals covering broad fields (political science and psychology) as well as more focused areas (biochemistry and neuroscience). The lit review articles are written by researchers for their peers and are especially good at analyzing the scholarly consensus on issues and pointing out where further research is needed.

Includes introductions to each topic area, guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Haverford subscribes to these sections of the Oxford Bibliographies:
African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History,
Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication
Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies,
Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy,
Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Sociology and Urban Studies.
Note that BMC and Swarthmore subscribe to different topic areas, so that users need to know if the topic they need is available only at a neighboring campus.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global: Humanities and Social Sciences is a collection of scholarly research that consists of millions of searchable citations to Ph. D.dissertations and Masters' theses from around the world, and 2.1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.
Doctoral students go through an exhaustive literature search when writing their dissertations. They also tend to work on new questions, sometimes ones that have received very little attention from scholars before. You can obtain many of these dissertations and benefit from all the bibliographic sources cited and discussed.
The database in many instances will provide full text copies. When that is not the case, search the web for the dissertation title (in quotation marks). Many are available in open university archives. When that strategy does not work, please try requesting a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Some dissertation writers choose to not make their theses publicly available, but you may find related publications by searching for them as authors in WorldCat and journal databases.