Research Guides: Introduction to Areas of Study (HC): Health Studies

Blogs and News

CDC public health law news
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Public Health Legal Response and Preparedness Clearinghouse (U.S.)
The Pump Handle
This blog is described as "a water cooler for the public health crowd." Contributors include well known American epidemiologists.

Companions and Handbooks

Oxford Handbooks in Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly review articles that provide an in-depth overview of topics in psychology, as well as authoritative guidance, directing you to further related content. A great place to begin your research.

Oxford Handbooks for Health Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford handbooks related to Health Studies.
Routledge Handbooks for Public Health/Health Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks on the topic of Public Health and Health Studies

Literature Reviews

Literature reviews are a particularly useful resource when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding. It is one of the best places to find discussion of issues that are unresolved or in contention.

Oxford Bibliographies in Public Health
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on public health, a field with a mission to assess, develop, and assure the health of a population.

Annual Review of Public Health
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes literature reviews exclusively. Topics covered annually include environmental health, social environment, health services, public health practice and policy.

Journal Indexes

PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free database of biomedical and related life and behavioral sciences journal articles. Includes MEDLINE index and links to PubMed Central open access articles when available.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to biomedical research publications including biology, medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. Offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology. Coverage varies.

Major Journals

American Journal of Public Health
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The American Journal of Public Health is a monthly peer-reviewed public health journal published by the American Public Health Association that covers health policy and public health
American Journal of Preventive Medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The American Journal of Preventive Medicine is a monthly peer-reviewed medical journal that publishes articles in the areas of prevention research, teaching, practice and policy
Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health is a peer-reviewed public health journal that covers all aspects of epidemiology and public health
Journal of Public Health Policy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Public Health Policy is a peer-reviewed medical journal. It covers the field of public health and is the official journal of the National Association for Public Health Policy

Associations and Conferences

American Public Health Association
APHA champions the health of all people and all communities. They help to strengthen the public health profession. They speak out for public health issues and policies backed by science.
The National Consortium for Health Science Education
The National Consortium for Health Science Education, a non-profit education organization, represents state education agency leaders responsible for middle school, secondary, and postsecondary career technical education (CTE) health science programs.
Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health
Our mission is to advance academic public health by mobilizing the collective power of our members to drive excellence and innovation in education, research, and practice.

Staying Current

Global Health Observatory
Reports, fact sheets, data and more from the World Health Organization.
What Works for Health
Provides tools for finding policies and programs for specific needs in the U.S. Includes curated strategy lists (Ex: Racial Wealth Building). Part of a larger site with county health rankings.

More Resources at Haverford

Subject librarians make research guides for individual classes and for topics. Browse for information on different subjects. See this introduction to research guides video for more information. Research guides for courses in Health Studies include: