Research Guides: Introduction to Areas of Study (HC): Environmental Studies

Blogs and News

Grist
Grist is a nonprofit, independent media organization dedicated to telling stories of climate solutions and a just future. Their goal is to use the power of storytelling to illuminate the way toward a better world, inspire millions of people to walk that path with us, and show that the time for action is now.
The Environmental Show
The Environment Show features interviews with key environmental leaders and focuses on important environmental issues and innovative solutions to big environmental challenges.
BBC Earth
A place to explore the natural world through awe-inspiring documentaries, podcasts, stories and more

Companions and Handbooks

The companion and handbook genre is a publication type that has flourished in the last decade. The goal is for leading scholars to provide a thorough description of the subject matter of a field while also giving the most current interpretations of key questions. Each essay in a handbook reflects an important subject facet and identifies the books and articles which are crucial for a greater understanding. Handbooks for Environmental Studies include:

Blackwell/Wiley Handbooks and Companions
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Literature Reviews

Oxford Bibliographies in Ecology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
These are extensive, annotated bibliographies of the most important concepts and ideas in Ecology. Each entry is organized into sections containing six to eight references which are then briefly described. Fast-track your research using this continually updated list of bibliographies compiled by leading scholars on all aspects of ecology.
Oxford Bibliographies in Environmental Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of environmental science. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Annual Review of Environment and Resources
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Annual Review of Environment and Resources provides authoritative reviews of significant topics within environmental science and engineering, including ecology, water and energy resources, atmosphere, oceans, climate change, agriculture, and human dimensions of resource use and global change.

Journal Indexes

GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Excellent resource for finding information on global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online resource that focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. Offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and environmental and sustainability issues in such categories as energy systems, healthcare, agriculture, transportation, economics, and ecology. Allows users to navigate by issue, organization, and country portals. Includes news, video, primary source documents, interactive maps, contextual multimedia, customizable journals, and news and refereed case studies.

Major Journals

Energy and Environment Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Environmental Politics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International journal of environmental science and technology : IJEST.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nature Climate Change
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Associations and Conferences

Associations for Environmental Studies and Science
The Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences (AESS) is an independent faculty-and-student-based professional association in higher education, designed to serve the needs of environmental scholars and scientists who value interdisciplinary approaches to research, teaching, and problem-solving.
Associations for Environmental Studies and Science Conference
National Association of Environmental Professionals
The National Association of Environmental Professionals (NAEP) is a multi-disciplinary association for professionals dedicated to the advancement of the environmental professions, a forum for state-of-the-art information on environmental planning, research and management, and a network of professional contacts and exchange of information among colleagues in industry, government, academia, and the private sector
NAEP Conference

Stay Current

Environmental Science News
From the website ScienceDaily
Envirolink
This organization provides an online community for news and discussion.
NAEP Webinars
Webinars for current topics and trends in Environmental Studies

More Resources at Haverford

Subject librarians make research guides for individual classes and for topics. Browse for information on different subjects. See this introduction to research guides video for more information. Research guides for courses in Environmental Studies include: