Research Guides: Introduction to Areas of Study (HC): East Asian Languages and Cultures

East Asian Languages and Cultures

A ninja and Prince Hikaru Genji by Utagawa Kunisada (source: Wikimedia Commons)

Early China Sinology
A blog that mostly reviews new books in early and medieval Chinese topics.
Art of Life in Chinese Central Asia
A repository of emerging forms of Uyghur, Han and Kazakh art and politics.
A British Prof In Japan
Short posts on life in everyday Japan with images and reading recommendations. Also a "Resources" section with links and information on Japanese Studies tools and sites.

Routledge Handbooks on East Asia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Oriental Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An old fashioned name, the handbook series is the best handbook for many East Asian topics of interest. Published by Brill (Leiden).

Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Chinese studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Oxford Bibliographies in Buddhism
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Buddhism as a diverse field which combines religion, philosophy, history, art history, philology and textual studies, as well as informing a variety of comparative studies.

Journal of East Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International Journal of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Asia Major
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Subject librarians make research guides for individual classes and for topics. Browse for information on different subjects. See this introduction to research guides video for more information. Research guides for courses in East Asian Languages and Cultures include:
EALC 225: Chinese Fiction in the Twentieth Century
EALC 230: Postwar Japanese Cinema and Visual Culture
EALC 256: Zen Thought, Zen Culture, Zen History