Research Guides: Introduction to Areas of Study (HC): Computer Science

Blogs and News

Hacker Noon
This site offers discussion of current issues, solutions to computing problems, and opportunities to build skills.
The Female Perspective of Computer Science
50+ Killer Resources for Computer Science Students
Computer science students are lucky because the Internet is like a living textbook, full of information and advice for their field. Many professors, experts, and other people skilled in computer science have created essays, tutorials, and resources, all designed to make computing easier. This site compiles over 50 of the best sources here.
MIT Technology Review
Science News
Science Daily
Extensive site on top science news of the day. Articles are from academic and industry sources going back 10 years. Helpful citations for the story and each story links to the original source.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science by Robert T. Abrams (Editor)
ISBN: 1613246358
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
This book presents current research in the field of computer science.

AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill
Provides full-text access to articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates and links to related websites in all areas of science and technology. Covers 2000-present.

Click here for a variety of Annual Reviews in computer science fields.

ArXiv.org e-print archive -Computer Science
Electronic preprint archive of research papers in full-text for computer science as well as math, physics, and quantitative biology. Covers 1991-present. Good way to find out about the newest papers.

Web of Science
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.
ScienceDirect
Provides full-text,online access to journal articles in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Full-text is available only for journals to which the TriColleges subscribe. Full-text access for most journals goes back to 1993. Abstracts are available for non-subscribed journals.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
ACM is a leading organization for Computer Studies. See the many publications available on the website as well as topics discussed in conference proceedings.
Especially helpful is the magazine XRDS created by students for students.
Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
The Association promotes research, organizes conferences and supports students in their studies.
Association for Women in Computing (AWC)
The purpose of AWC is to provide opportunities for professional growth through networking and through programs on technical and career-oriented topics. AWC encourages high standards of competence and promotes a professional attitude among its members.
Stanford Institute for Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence
Artificial Intelligence has the potential to help us realize our shared dream of a better future for all of humanity, but it will bring with it challenges and opportunities we can’t yet foresee.