Skip to main content

Assessment (HC)

Economics Department

Haverford Economics Department Four-Year Library Skills Rubric-Draft
  100-level courses 200-level courses 300-level courses and junior seminars Thesis
Library Tools & Services Has visited Magill Library and understands Haverford's close association with Bryn Mawr and Swarthmore Colleges.  Is familiar with Tripod, and knows the name of the Economics Librarian. Knows how to search Tripod in basic way, and how to request matertials from Bryn Mawr and Swarthmore via Tripod.  Has met the Economics Librarian.  Has explored the economics research guide.   Knows what the "FindIt" button does.  Is aware of, and has perhaps used, interlibrary loan. Is confident in ability to search Tripod robustly.  Refers to economics research guide frequently, as well as course pages developed by the Economics Librarian, with whom s/he has developed a comfortable working relationship.  Is a frequent user of interlibrary loan; knows when to shift requests to EZBorrow.  Asks for assistance from Economics Librarian when having mechanical troubles. Searches Tripod robustly, but recognizes the limitations of the Tri-Co catalog and expands search to WorldCat as the need for book literature demands.  Has delved deeply into the course page for thesis writers after being introduced to it by Economics Librarian early in the senior year.  Also early in the year, signs up for expanded thesis borrowing privileges.  Uses interlibrary loan liberally. Can troubleshoot many mechanical issues, sending to Economics Librarian those that require mediation.   Regularly meets and/or stays in touch with Economics Librarian as thesis focus and needs shift throughout the year.
Research Questions n/a Is capable of developing a simple question that can be addressed through bibliographic research, and if empirical, through application of basic data. Is capable of developing a focused research question that leverages previous curricular and bibliographic skill sets.  The Economics Librarian can assist students in understanding how the bibliographic and data needs of their question can be best approached given available resources, especially as these intersect with related disciplines. From the Department's rubric (draft dated 27 March 2013), the goal is a thesis question "clearly stated and readily apparent to the reader; importance and relevance of question is well established."  The Economics Librarian will maintain close contact with thesis writers as they develop their research questions in order to provide research guidance.
Bibliographic Sources n/a Uses EconLit foremost to find pertinent scholarly resources; uses additional sources such as PAIS and Sociological Abstracts under the direction of the Economics Libarian as needed.  Understands the scope and limitation of searching JSTOR natively.  Is able to distinguish between scholarly and popular sources. Is well versed with the principal journal indexes (EconLit, Sociological Abstracts, PAIS) and searches these powerfully through boolean logic and limits such as date and language.  Supplements these sources through experimentation with other sources listed on the economics research guide and course pages, as well as through critical appraisal of Google Scholar results.  Is able to recognize scholarly papers that advance their research assignment.  Have developed the means to evaulate credibility and utility of sources. Is exhaustive in use of bibliographic sources, including disserations, to obtain pertinent research materials.  Beyond the usual indexes previously consulted,  the Economics Librarian will introduce new sources as warranted by the interdisciplinary nature of the thesis.   Is able to employ robust search strategies that account for synonyms and differing thesauri among databases. Has well developed sense of value of retrieved papers to their research topic.  Understands that research is an ongoing process that they will exercise throughout the year.  
Data Sources n/a Locates and applies data sets from standard sources such as ICPSR, World Bank, Bureau of Labor Statistics.  In many cases, works with Economics Librarian to locate pertinent data for research assignment. Is comfortable gathering data from a variety of sources.  Is able to understand how the variables do/do not advance their empirical project.  Contacts Economics Librarian when discovered sources do not meet their research needs. The Economics Librarian will introduce more specialized data sources (Mergent, India.Stat, International Financial Statistics) early in the year, and will assist students, when needed, in discovering and acquiring data to meet their needs.  Will consider purchase of proprietary data upon recommendation of faculty advisor.   
Citation & Data Management n/a Understands how to apply APA style in research papers.  Cites data with title, publishers, version, DOI/URL, and date accessed. Systematically applies APA formatting and data citation to papers; begins to develop means of managing sources, especially for junior seminar.  May try Zotero or another citation manager on own. Upon recommendation and instruction from the Economics Librarian early in the year, uses Zotero to manage bibloiographic citations and full-text sources.  Applies the Protocol for Documenting Data Management and Analysis as a means of organizaing and making transparent their work.  Adheres to prescribed foldering and naming conventions.