Research Guides: WRPR 154: Human Rights and the State (HC): News and Opinion

Major Dailies

New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Covers 1851-present. Use the link Individually subscribed periodical titles for recent coverage through the New York Times website.
Bryn Mawr users: How to create an account for the New York Times.
HC users: How to access the NY Times
If you want articles in the NY Times more than 5 years old, use the Proquest Historical Newspapers link for a more sophisticated search interface.
Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Help accessing the WSJ from Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore
For earlier years, use the links for Proquest Historical Newspapers and for HC users, Proquest Recent Newspapers.
Washington Post
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This newspaper places a particular emphasis on national politics. Page images of the Washington Post (and at BMC, including the DC, MD, and VA editions, for issues up to a few days ago).
Bryn Mawr, Haverford, Swarthmore also subscribe directly for recent coverage.
Bryn Mawr users: help accessing the Washington Post
Help accessing the Washington Post through Haverford's site license.

News Magazines

Atlantic Monthly
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth coverage of political, social and cultural issues. Use the link The Atlantic to access all articles and web-only features. Also on that site see the Atlantic Archive for articles published from 1857-present.
BMC users: How to access The Atlantic website
HC users: How to access the Atlantic
Economist
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UK magazine focusing on economic and political topics. International in scope including the U.S.
Foreign Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The three colleges have site licenses for all published articles as well as website content. Use the link E-Journals. Covers 1922 to the present.
Nation (New York, N.Y. : 1865-)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Important publication for analysis, commentary and investigative reports. Includes coverage of culture and the arts. All holdings include scanned page images and searchable text online for all issues of The Nation published from 1865 through to the present.

New Yorker
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published since 1925, the New Yorker is one of the oldest weekly magazines in the United States, offering commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.
Time Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Time Magazine is the first weekly news magazine in the United States. Coverage - 1923 to the present.

Opinion Poll Data

Afrobarometer
An independent, nonpartisan research project measuring the social, political and economic atmosphere in Africa. Afrobarometer surveys are conducted in more than 20 African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Part of the Global Barometer Survey series. Includes an online data analysis tool, downloadable data files, country reports, and publications.
Arab Barometer
Part of the Global Barometer Project, a network of regional studies on the attitudes of ordinary citizens. public opinion studies. Includes an online data analysis tool, downloadable data files, country reports and publications.
Asian Barometer
An independent, nonpartisan research project measuring the social, political and economic atmosphere in Asia. Asian Barometer surveys are conducted in 18 East and South Asian countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Part of the Global Barometer Survey series. Includes an online data analysis tool, downloadable data files, and publications.
Eurobarometer
The European Commission monitors and reports public opinion in the E.U. Data concerns citizenship, social issues, health, culture, information technology, the environment, and the Euro. Provides opinion data twice yearly. Information is available for individual countries, regional groups, and the entire EU.
Latinobarómetro
Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 20,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 600 million inhabitants. Part of the Global Barometer Survey series. Includes an online data analysis tool, downloadable data files, and publications.