WRPR 154: Human Rights and the State (HC)

+++ Commentary and annotated bibliographies by top scholars detailing key sources on a range of topics in pertinent fields including Political Science and International Relations. Check the items in the "Related Titles" box for additional information related to your interests. This series is under development and adds additional essays twice a year.
Entries of interest include:
Abortion (from the Public Health section)
Freedom of Expression (from the International Law section)
Genocide in Rwanda (from the African Studies section)
Human Rights (from the International Law section)
Immigration and European Politics (from the International Law section)
Minority Languages- Area Studies- Russia and Eurasia (from the Linguistics section)
Racism as a Structural Determinant of Health (from the International Law section)
Russian Approaches to International Law (from the International Law section)
Uyghurs (from the Chinese Studies section)

The book introduces current debates, paying particular attention to the legal implementation, human rights, justice and conflicts, medicine and bioethics. Also discusses the concept of dignity in non-Western cultures and in history.

Forty-three essays address many topics including the right to gender identity, internet access, bodily integrity, freedom from corruption and more.

Editors and researchers provide analytic accounts on key issues involving war crimes, crimes against humanity, and genocide. Includes essays on transitional justice, truth commissions and other restorative efforts. Published in 2022. Available online.

Provides a comprehensive and original overview of one of the fundamental topics within international law. It contains substantial new essays by over forty leading experts in the field, giving students, scholars, and practitioners a complete overview of the issues that inform research and a "map" of the debates that animate the field. Each chapter features critical and up-to-date analysis of the current state of debate and discussion, assessing recent work, and advancing the understanding of all aspects of this developing area of international law.

Contains over 400 entries exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world.

+++ This NGO is known for its extensive coverage of issues and its effective advocacy. Haverford College has subscribed to its published reports for many years. You can find older reports in the Tripod catalog and newer ones on the HRW website. See the tabs for Countries, Topics and Reports. The World Report 2023 surveys conditions in more than 70 countries and territories.

Long running advocacy and research organization founded in the U. K. See also its U. S. branch.

research and advocacy group focusing on democracy and civil liberties. See in particular their annual report, Freedom in the World.

+++ This authoritative reference book provides detailed information on the major aspects of each country's government and political parties. See the article about the country you are researching. Because the handbook is updated regularly it is a good source for information on current events, elections, political history, and more.