PEAC 071B: Strategy and Nonviolent Struggle (SC)

Selective list of books, articles, reports, and other resources on nonviolent conflict. This site includes resources aimed at not only scholars, but also activists, NGOs, and journalists.

If you'd like to look at a book listed on this site, try searching Tripod for it. If it's not in Tripod, email Simon Elichko (selichk1) to see if the library can order the book.

Visit this site to download PDFs of books by Gene Sharp and others focusing on strategic nonviolent action. Includes full downloads of How Nonviolent Struggle Works, From Dictatorship to Democracy, and others.

The Albert Einstein Institution is a nonprofit organization founded by Dr. Gene Sharp in 1983 to advance the study and use of strategic nonviolent action in conflicts throughout the world. (description from website)

Gene Sharp was the principal founder of the Albert Einstein Institution, and the Swarthmore College Peace Collection serves as the repository for the records of this organization. Take a look at the finding aid to get a sense for what kinds of documents are included in this collection.

If you're interested in viewing these materials or want to learn more about what's available, the friendly archivists at Swarthmore's Peace Collection can help you. Email peace@swarthmore.edu or make an appointment.

Note that access to some of these documents is restricted, which is common particularly when participants in an organization are still alive and when there are concerns about privacy.

Oppenheimer's 1963 Sociology dissertation on the sit-in movement could be a valuable resource for students researching cases from the Civil Rights movement.

Another great resource for researching cases in the Civil Rights movement, available as a print book from McCabe and Bryn Mawr's Canaday library.

View archived pages from a project by the International Center for Nonviolent Conflict which curated news stories about nonviolent civil resistance around the world. Covers 2016-2019.

ICNC has archived all of their news digests using Diigo. You can easily search these archives for a topic of interest.

There are some broken links in the news archive, but you can often use the Wayback Machine to view the article as it was originally posted years ago. Just copy and paste the URL from Diigo into the Wayback Machine search box, then click Browse Archive.