Research Guides: PEAC 071B: Strategy and Nonviolent Struggle (SC): TV & Radio News

Connect to Resources

United States (Major Collections)

Academic Video Online: Premium
AVON includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage in all academic areas. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Search US public TV and radio programs from 1940s-2018. Includes TV and radio programs from 100+ public broadcasting stations across the county. (68,000 items are available to watch/listen.)
American History in Video
Includes contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s as well as early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel.

AP Archive
Archive of The Associated Press.
Internet Archive: TV News Archive
Searches closed captions from US TV News shows. 2009 - present. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Search TV news broadcasts from 1970s-present. Swarthmore affiliates can watch clips from CNN and NBC.

United States (Thematic Collections)

The Living Room Candidate
Presidential campaign commercials from 1952-2016.
Television News of the Civil Rights Era 1950-1970
University of Virginia's website contains films from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia--WDBJ (CBS) Roanoke and WSLS (NBC) Roanoke. Contains over 230 films.

Global

Newsreels (British Pathé)
Search this collection of 80,000+ historical newsreels from British Pathé and Reuters
Colonial Film
Search this collection of 6000+ films showing images of life in the British colonies as represented by British government's Colonial Film Unit. Includes Indian News Parade (1943-1946) and other newsreels.
British Movietone Newsreels (AP Archive)
Watch British newsreels from late 1890s-1960s. Also includes stock video from Movietone.
Internet Archive: News & Public Affairs
Watch news from Democracy Now, Mosaic (Middle Eastern newscasts), and other collections offering a range of perspectives.

AVON (Academic Video Online)
Streaming video collection, includes some French, Dutch, and Japanese WWII-era newsreels (no English translation provided).

Transcripts & Summaries (TV, Radio)

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world . The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence.
FBIS daily reports, 1941-1974; FBIS daily reports, 1974-1996; FBIS daily report annexes, 1974-1996.

For 1996-2013, use the World News Connection database instead.
Nexis Uni
Formerly LexisNexis, find newspaper and magazine articles, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials, including Supreme Court cases. Includes the New York Times from 1980-present.
Access World News
Search radio and TV news transcripts. Includes mostly 2000s-present. (Tip: Limit your results by Type. Good options include Audio and Transcript.)
World News Connection
Contains hundreds of international news for the period 1995-2013. Material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events.

Oral History Online
Includes a list of links to oral history projects that offer audio/video with searchable transcripts.

First, look over a few project descriptions to get a sense for how much information is provided on this page. Then use CTRL+F to search. Start with your state or country.