Research Guides: PEAC 071B: Strategy and Nonviolent Struggle (SC): News Databases

1980-Present

Find News Articles: Cases from 1980-Present

Not all news can be found on Google. Use these news databases to find more relevant articles. Filter results by date, location, article type (e.g. advertisement versus article), and other criteria.

Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 700 newspapers around the globe. Database covers 1977-present. Easy to narrow down your search to just newspapers from a particular region, country, or city.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials.
World News Connection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search through international news from 1995-2013. Content includes translated versions of newspaper articles, TV and radio broadcasts, and other media.

1700-1980

Find News Articles: Cases from pre-1980

ProQuest News & Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from a variety of newspapers and other periodicals. Emphasizes historical results (1800s-1980s), but includes more recent content as well. Includes US & global news sources.

Includes: New York Times (1800s-present), The Guardian and Observer (UK)

America's Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search through 2,000+ historical newspapers published in the United States between 1690-1922. Includes publications from all 50 states, large cities and small towns, and a mix of major newspapers and titles with smaller circulations.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find articles published in major United States magazines between 1900-1980.
Note: To find the full articles/PDFs, search Tripod for the article title.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search translations of radio and tv broadcasts, newspapers, and other sources from countries around the world. Covers 1941-1996.
For 1996-2013, use the World News Connection database instead.

See also: Swarthmore Guide to Finding Historical News

Alternative Press Sources

Alternative / Community-Focused News

Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts to alternative news sources including radical and left journals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Covers 1991- present.

Tip: When you search the Alt Press Index, usually you're only searching within the actual article titles - no summaries or abstracts. So be sure to try a wide variety of search terms here to avoid missing relevant articles.
LGBTQ+ Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from GLBTQ magazines, journals, and regional newspapers (1960s-present)
Ethnic Newswatch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. In English and Spanish, it offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Covers 1959-Present.

Translated news

Finding Translated News Articles

Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For English translations, click on the Source List tab, then scroll down to BBC Selected Newspaper Articles.
World News Connection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search international news articles for the period 1995-2013, translated into English.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search international news coverage from 1941-1996, translated into English
For 1996-2013, use the World News Connection database instead.
MideastWire
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides concise, translated,daily briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. Covers 2005-