News - Library Liaisons Workshop - Research Skills II (HC) - Research Guides at Tri-College Libraries

Major Dailies

New York Times
Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Covers 1851-present. Use the link Individually subscribed periodical titles for recent coverage through the New York Times website.
Bryn Mawr users: How to create an account for the New York Times.
HC users: How to access the NY Times
SC users: How to access the NY TimesIf you want articles in the NY Times more than 5 years old, use the Proquest Historical Newspapers link for a more sophisticated search interface.
Wall Street Journal
Help accessing the WSJ from Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore
For earlier years, use the links for Proquest Historical Newspapers and for HC users, Proquest Recent Newspapers.
Washington Post
This newspaper places a particular emphasis on national politics. Page images of the Washington Post (and at BMC, including the DC, MD, and VA editions, for issues up to a few days ago). Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore also subscribe directly for recent coverage.
Bryn Mawr users: help accessing the Washington Post
Haverford users: Help accessing the Washington Post through Haverford's site license
Swarthmore users: help accessing the Washington Post

Atlantic Monthly
In-depth coverage of political, social and cultural issues. Use the link The Atlantic to access all articles and web-only features. Also on that site see the Atlantic Archive for articles published from 1857-present.
BMC users: How to access The Atlantic website
HC users: How to access the Atlantic
Economist
UK magazine focusing on economic and political topics. International in scope including the U.S.
Foreign Affairs
The three colleges have site licenses for all published articles as well as website content. Use the link E-Journals. Covers 1922 to the present.
Nation (New York, N.Y. : 1865-)
Important publication for analysis, commentary and investigative reports. Includes coverage of culture and the arts. All holdings include scanned page images and searchable text online for all issues of The Nation published from 1865 through to the present.

New Yorker
Published since 1925, the New Yorker is one of the oldest weekly magazines in the United States, offering commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.
Time Magazine
Time Magazine is the first weekly news magazine in the United States. Coverage - 1923 to the present.