Research Guides: ENVS 203: Environmental Humanities (BMC): Additional News Sources

U.S. Major Daily Newspapers

New York Times
Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Covers 1851-present. Use the link Individually subscribed periodical titles for recent coverage through the New York Times website.
Bryn Mawr users: How to create an account for the New York Times.
HC users: How to access the NY Times
SC users: How to access the NY TimesIf you want articles in the NY Times more than 5 years old, use the Proquest Historical Newspapers link for a more sophisticated search interface.
Wall Street Journal
Help accessing the WSJ from Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore
For earlier years, use the links for Proquest Historical Newspapers and for HC users, Proquest Recent Newspapers.
Washington Post
This newspaper places a particular emphasis on national politics. Page images of the Washington Post (and at BMC, including the DC, MD, and VA editions, for issues up to a few days ago). Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore also subscribe directly for recent coverage.
Bryn Mawr users: help accessing the Washington Post
Haverford users: Help accessing the Washington Post through Haverford's site license
Swarthmore users: help accessing the Washington Post

Alternative Press Index and Alternative Press Archive
Research tool for identifying articles in 300+ radical and left journals, magazines, and newspapers. Includes US and global publications, in English and other languages.

Democracy Now!
A national, daily, independent, award-winning news program hosted by journalists Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez.

Ethnic Newswatch
Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Articles from 1959-present.
GenderWatch
Offers full-text access to scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government and non-governmental organization reports. Materials focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Provides a historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and changes in gender roles. Covers 1970-present.

ProPublica
Published independent, investigative journalism. A good site for under-reported stories.
Find Your News: Nonprofit Newsrooms by State and Topic
Use this database to find non-profit newsrooms across the US. You can explore by topic (e.g. housing & unhoused communities) as well as location and language.

LGBTQ+ Source
Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs; also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus.

Access World News
Covers 1977-present. Print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos

BBC World News
Reports from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East. See the BBC home page for reports from the U.K and the U.S.
Daily Chatter
Daily Chatter is an international news resource which aggregates a handful of stories each day and delivers them for free to college students, faculty, and staff. Their mission is to package non-partisan news stories from reputable sources into a daily email that highlights five or six stories from around the globe.
Students may subscribe to the daily briefing via this link.
Faculty and staff should use this link.

Nexis Uni
Formerly LexisNexis, find newspaper and magazine articles, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials, including Supreme Court cases. Includes the New York Times from 1980-present.
World News Connection
Translations into English of international news sources for the period 1995-2013. News from a variety of sources: press agencies, reports, newspaper articles, periodicals, books, press releases, radio broadcasts, television programs.
Financial Times
An international daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news.HC: The issues from the current month are in the Morley Alcove in paper copies.