Research Guides: POLS 336: Democracy and Democratization (HC): Citations

Citation Manager

Zotero: The Tri-College Libraries recommend Zotero, a free online app that can format your bibliography, keep your citations organized, and even save your articles in the cloud so you can access them later from the library, home, or a café.

Zotero: A Citation Tool
A tri-college guide to installing and using Zotero to save your references and then cite them in footnotes and the computer-generated bibliography.

Citation Manuals and Guides

Chicago Manual of Style (Online)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This 2017 edition of the handbook provides guidance on documenting sources and on writing style. This new edition also includes instructions and examples for online publications and websites.
Chicago Manual of Style Documentary Note System (Williams College)
This page explains the system using separate bibliographic notes for citations rather than including them in the text as in often done in science papers.
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A standard guide for writers in the social and behavioral sciences. Many students prefer APA's in-text citation style.
APA Style Guide to Electronic References
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA Style Simplified
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab: APA Style Guide
Created by the Writing Lab at Purdue University, this web site provides concise information on APA Guidelines, writing guidelines and citation & bibliography examples.