POLS 336: Democracy and Democratization (HC): Background Information

The Encyclopedia is an international, interdisciplinary, and collaborative project, spanning all the relevant areas of scholarship related to issues of global justice, and edited and advised by leading scholars from around the world. More than 500 wide-ranging entries present the latest ideas on this complex subject by authors who are at the cutting edge of inquiry.

This 3-volume reference work offers 287 entries written by 166 scholars and practitioners drawn from diverse jurisdictions and includes detailed country studies; entries on transitional justice institutions and organizations; descriptions of transitional justice methods, processes, and practices; examinations of key debates and controversies; and a glossary of relevant terms and concepts.

This authoritative reference book provides detailed information on the major aspects of each country's government and political parties. it also profiles international organizations. Because the handbook is updated regularly it is a good source for information on current events, elections, political history, and more.

Contains over 400 entries exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world.

An independent, nonpartisan research project measuring the social, political and economic atmosphere in Africa. Afrobarometer surveys are conducted in more than 20 African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Part of the Global Barometer Survey series. Includes an online data analysis tool, downloadable data files, country reports, and publications.

Part of the Global Barometer Project, a network of regional studies on the attitudes of ordinary citizens. Includes an online data analysis tool, downloadable data files, country reports and publications.

An independent, nonpartisan research project measuring the social, political and economic atmosphere in Asia. Asian Barometer surveys are conducted in 18 East and South Asian countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Part of the Global Barometer Survey series. Includes an online data analysis tool, downloadable data files, and publications.

The European Commission monitors and reports public opinion in the E.U. Data concerns citizenship, social issues, health, culture, information technology, the environment, and the Euro. Provides opinion data twice yearly. Information is available for individual countries, regional groups, and the entire EU.

Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 20,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 600 million inhabitants. Part of the Global Barometer Survey series. Includes an online data analysis tool, downloadable data files, and publications.