Research Guides: POLS 336: Democracy and Democratization (HC): Journal Articles

Civilians Responding to Violence

People in Colombia protest the taking of hostages by the FARC and the ELN, 2008 (Source: Wikimedia Commons)

Journal Indexes

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journals in political science and related fields including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Covers 1975-present.

The databases below allow you to search for journal articles by subject. When you find a title of interest, if the full text is not immediately available (as in JSTOR and Proquest), use the Find It button to check for Haverford's holdings.

See the Search Tips tab for examples of ways to develop terminology and construct search statements.

EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts to economic journals, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Coverage 1969-present.
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
Index Islamicus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers citations to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, intergovernmental, and private organizations reports. Areas covered include political, economic, social and public policy issues. Covers 1915-present.
Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines as far back as 1963. Includes Social Services Abstracts journals.
Women's Studies International
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, newspapers, dissertations and bulletins, in the core areas of women's studies. Subjects include, feminism, women of color, science, health and technology. Includes different women's studies resources. Covers 1972-present.

Journal Indexes for Regions and Cultures

Africa-Wide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.
Index Islamicus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers citations to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and book reviews from 1906 to the present.
Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas (PRISMA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of Hispanic studies, from research on indigenous cultures past and present to current economic indicators, politics, and society. Includes works in English as well as many in Spanish.

Tracking Citations Forward in Time

Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand.
Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available.

This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic. By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
When you connect, choose the Cited Reference Search tab to begin.
Enter the author's name: Last name first, First name initial only with asterisk (e.g., Smith J*)
Skip Cited Title box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year box
Under Current Limits, open Citation Databases and uncheck Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Science.
On the next screen choose the relevant results based on the Cited Work titles.
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.
Note also the column on the far right. It shows "the next generation" of scholarship, that is newer articles that in turn cite the authors and titles you have just compiled.
Google Scholar
To search for cited references in Google Scholar, enter the title of the article or book in quotation marks.
In the results list, check the link Cited by [number] for both books and journal articles which cite the title you have entered.
Results example:
[BOOK] Civil society under authoritarianism: The China model
JC Teets - 2014 - books.google.com
Cited by 181 Related articles All 2 versions

Subject Guide

Karen Viars

Email Me

Subjects: Africana & Black Studies, History, Political Science

Recommended Journals

Professor Isaacs draws your attention to these journals and magazines as consistent publishers of quality work.

Journals in Peace and Conflict

Conflict Management and Peace Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1999 to the present
Journal of Conflict Resolution
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1957 to the present
Journal of Peace Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1964 to the present

Major Journals in Political Science
American Political Science Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1906 to the present
Democratization
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1997 to the present
Development and Change
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1970 to 1996 at Haverford. Request newer material through the Articles service. Available online 1970 to the present at BMC and Swarthmore.
Comparative Politics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1968.
Journal of Politics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1939 to the present
Third World Quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available from 1979 to the present
World Politics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1948 to the present

Important Region-Focused Journals
African Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1944 to the present
Latin American Politics and Society
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1994 to the present
Middle East Journal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1947 to the present

Journals for Overviews and Introductions
Current History
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1988 to the present except for the most recent 6 months. See newest issues in paper in Lutnick's newspaper and magazine reading area on Tier 2.
Economist
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available from 1843 to the present
Foreign Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1922 to the present. Use the Ejournals link to see current issues as well as additional material posted only on the Foreign Affairs website. The username and password are provided once you log in.
Journal of Democracy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available online from 1990 to the present