Anthology of Classical Myth by Stephen Trzaskoma (Editor, Introduction)
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
In addition to the complete texts of the Homeric Hymns and Hesiod's Theogony, this collection provides generous selections from over 50 texts composed between the Archaic Age and the fourth century AD. Ancient interpretation of myth is represented here in selections from the allegorists Heraclitus, Cornutus and Fulgentius, the rationalists Palaephatus and Diodorus of Sicily, and the philosophers and historians Plato, Herodotus and Thucydides.
Cambridge Companion to Greek Mythology by Roger Woodard (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Woodard brings together a group of the worlds most authoritative scholars of classical myth to present a thorough treatment of key aspects of Greek mythology. They examine the relationship between myth, art, religion and politics among the ancient Greeks and its reception and influence on later society from the Middle Ages to present day literature, feminism and cinema.
A Companion to Greek Mythology by Ken Dowden (Editor); Niall Livingstone (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
Presents a series of essays that explore the phenomenon of Greek myth from its origins through its development as a shared language and thought-system for the Greco-Roman world. Features essays from a prestigious international team of scholars. Includes coverage of Greek myth's intersection with history, philosophy and religion.
A Handbook to the Reception of Classical Mythology by Vanda Zajko (Editor); Helena Hoyle (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017-04-10
Presents a collection of essays that explore key aspects of Greek and Roman myths and their critical reception from antiquity to the present day. Features chronologically organized essays that address different sets of myths that were important in each historical era, along with their thematic relevance.
The Reception of Myth and Mythology by Maria Moog-Grünewald (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010-11-11
This Brill's New Pauly Supplement volume 4 highlights the routes and works through which the myths of Greece and Rome have passed into the cultural memory of humankind over the centuries, into its literature, music and art and its reflections on aesthetics and philosophy. New media too, such as film, comics and advertising, have taken up the ancient mythological figures."
The Routledge Handbook of Greek Mythology by Robin Hard
Publication Date: 2008-09-30
This new edition incorporates the results of the latest research into the accounts of all the gods and heroes. The narrative framework of the book includes helpful signposting so that the book can be used as work of reference, and alongside the narrative chapters, it includes full documentation of the ancient sources, maps, and genealogical tables.