Research Guides: CSTS 218: Animals and Androids in Greek and Latin Literature (HC): History and Criticism

Finding Scholarly Studies in Books

Use the Tripod catalog This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Bryn Mawr, and Swarthmore.

The following subject searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a title search in the Tripod Catalog to find some relevant material and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books.

animal* [Subject] AND (greek* OR greece OR rome OR roman* classical) [Keyword]

human-animal relationships AND art [Subject search]

("same sex" OR homoerotic*) [Keyword] AND (greece OR greek OR classical) [Subject] (newest titles listed first)

Tripod Catalog
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod to find relevant scholarship owned by the tri-college libraries. Change the resource group on the search bar to limit results to specific materials like books and films.
Use the Request link in an item's record to have it delivered to the library of your choice . Note that you need to log into Tripod in order to see the Request link. If you are already in Tripod, use the Sign In link at the top of every page to log in..

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing beyond the Tri-Co
1. E-Z Borrow - Request books that are not available in Tripod. It usually takes three days or less for E-Z Borrow books to arrive.
2. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Request books not in E-Z Borrow. They can come in as little as four or five days. Also use ILL to request films, dissertations, sound recordings, and other materials.
3. Articles - Request journal articles not available in your college library. You will receive digital copies of the articles in your email sometimes as quickly as the following day.

Selected Books on Animals

Animals and Inequality in the Ancient World by Benjamin S. Arbuckle (Editor); Sue Ann McCarty (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1607322862
Publication Date: 2015-01-15
Explores the current trends in the social archaeology of human-animal relationships, focusing on the ways in which animals are used to structure, create, support, and even deconstruct social inequalities. One essay deals with Classical Antiquity: "“Tails” of Romanization: Animals and Inequality in the Roman Mediterranean Context ."
Birds in the Ancient World by Jeremy Mynott
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780198713654
Publication Date: 2018-08-05
Birds pervaded the ancient world, impressing their physical presence on the daily experience and imaginations of ordinary people and figuring prominently in literature and art. They provided a fertile source of symbols and stories in myths and folklore and were central to the ancient rituals of augury and divination.
Cruelty and Sentimentality by Louise C. Calder
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781407307831
Publication Date: 2011-05-15
The purpose of this work is to understand everyday human-animal relationships. Thus the focus is not the depiction of animals as art, or narratives about them, but literary evidence, artefacts, and animal remains as historical records, revealing a Greek social history of human-animal relationships.
Dumb Beasts and Dead Philosophers by Catherine Osborne
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780199282067
Publication Date: 2007-03-29
Osborne shows that Plato's views on reincarnation and Aristotle's views on animal souls reveal a continuous thread of life in which humans are not morally superior to beasts; Greek tragedy turns up thoughts that mirror the claims of rights activists; the long tradition of arguments for vegetarianism in antiquity highlights how mankind's abuse of other animals is the more offensive the more it is for indulgent ends.
Human and Animal in Ancient Greece by Tua Korhonen; Erika Ruonakoski
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781784537616
Publication Date: 2017-03-17
Animals were omnipresent in the everyday life and the visual arts of classical Greece. In literature, too, they had significant functions.This book discusses the role of animals - both domestic and wild - and mythological hybrid creatures in ancient Greek literature. Central to the book's enquiry is the question of empathy: investigating the ways in which ancient Greek authors invited their readers to empathise with non-human counterparts.
Interactions Between Animals and Humans in Graeco-Roman Antiquity by Thorsten Fö (Editor); Edmund Thomas (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783110544169
Publication Date: 2017-08-21
The 17 essays in this book show that animals and humans in Graeco-Roman antiquity connected on a variety of levels and that their interactions often result from their belonging to the same 'networks' and communities. Note the research bibliography also included.

Selected Books on Automata and Robots

Gods and Robots by Adrienne Mayor
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780691183510
Publication Date: 2018-11-27
Concerns the untold story of how the ancients imagined robots and other forms of artificial life--and even invented real automated machines. Greek mythology explored ideas about creating artificial life--and grappling with still-unresolved ethical concerns about biotechne, "life through craft."
Also available in a print copy from BMC.
Sublime Dreams of Living Machines by Minsoo Kang
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780674049352
Publication Date: 2011-02-28
Historian Minsoo Kang argues that to properly understand the human-as-machine and the human-as-fundamentally-different-from-machine, we must trace the origins of these ideas and examine how they were transformed by intellectual, cultural, and artistic appearances of the automaton throughout the history of the West. In his first chapter Kang tracks the first appearance of the automaton in ancient myths.
Also available in print from Swarthmore.

Finding Scholarly Studies in Journals

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annèe Philologique is useful for researchers in the classics, philosophy, history, art, archaeology, and the humanities. It contains publication information for articles for the years 1924 to the present.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new window
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.

Finding Book Reviews

Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Publishes open-access, peer-refereed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies.

Book Review Index
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications. Covers 1965-present.

Classical Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes only book reviews, averaging 90 full-length reviews per issue. The viewpoints are generally critical and informed.