Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bryn Mawr College Histories

Digital Collections

Reports of the President to the Board of Trustees

These reports contain information on academic departments and libraries at Bryn Mawr College and often contain brief biographies of newly hired faculty, although the exact content of the reports is variable year to year, and the Reports were not published on a consistent schedule. Searching within reports for faculty and/or department names should identify relevant sections.

Course Catalogs

Names and descriptions of courses taught by Bryn Mawr faculty from 1893 up until the 2009/10 academic year are available online. From 1891-1903 and 1980-2001 graduate courses were published separately from undergraduate courses. During the interim period, graduate courses are included in the general course catalog. Searching within these publications for the names of faculty members may help determine the specific courses taught by a faculty member.

College News

Material by or about a faculty member may have appeared in the College News. Issues of the College News from 1914 to 1996 are available and full text searchable online. When searching for faculty, try searching for alternate spellings of their name as editors may not have caught misspellings. E.g. "Katherine" and "Catherine" may uncover different articles about the same individual.

Yearbooks

Bryn Mawr College Yearbooks, edited and compiled by the graduating class of a given year, may contain some information or photographs about faculty members. Only yearbooks from 1901-1949 are available online due to privacy restrictions.

Publications

Faculty publications can be found in both physical and digital form by consulting Tripod, the Bryn Mawr Library catalog. More recent/current faculty may also have made use of Bryn Mawr's institutional repository to house digital copies of publications that might otherwise be located behind a paywall.

Physical Collections

Although finding aids and research guides to the following collections may be available online, material listed here has not been digitized, but is available to researchers in the Bryn Mawr College Special Collections reading room upon request. Researchers unable to make it to Special Collections in person who are interested in using this material are encouraged to contact the archivist with their questions.

Alternatively, find more information about visiting Special Collections in person on our website: https://www.brynmawr.edu/lits/visit-special-collections.

Public Information Files

In the past, the Public Information Office—now the Communications Department—kept files on some members of Bryn Mawr's faculty. When faculty members retired or left the College, the Public Information Office transferred their file to the College Archives. These files contain whatever information the faculty member shared with that department and any newspaper clippings that the department may have collected. In some cases it may contain a C.V. and, in the case of deceased faculty members, one or more obituaries. Researchers interested in these files should contact the archivist for more information.

President's Correspondence

The correspondence of presidents M. Carey Thomas, Marion Park, Katharine McBride, and Harris Wofford is available to researchers. This correspondence is generally filed by subject or correspondent. Search the finding aids for these collections for the names of faculty members to discover correspondence between a previous College President and a member of the Bryn Mawr faculty.

Personal and Professional Papers

The manuscripts collection in the Special Collections Department contains personal and professional papers for a limited number of Bryn Mawr faculty. Search our online finding aids to see if a particular faculty member's papers are included in our Collections. Researchers are also encouraged to contact the archivist or Special Collections to see whether a particular faculty member's papers might have been donated to another repository.