Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bryn Mawr College Histories

Digital Collections

Early Course Catalogs
These catalogs (also called College Programs or College Calendars) served as promotional material for the College in addition to course lists. Many include a brochure entitled Academic Buildings and Halls of Residence, which contain photographs, drawings, or floor plans for College buildings. A complete set of course catalogs can be found in Special Collections and many have been digitized.

Annual Reports of the Presidents to the Board of Trustees

Reports to the Board of Trustees sometimes mention Bryn Mawr College buildings, however reports were not made or published every year. To locate building information inside reports, look for reports published around the time specific buildings were planned, built, and/or completed.

College News

Articles about College buildings sometimes appear in the College News. Search issues published around the time buildings were completed, renovated, or scheduled to be demolished to locate information.

Alumnae Publications

Articles about buildings are sometimes included in the Alumnae Bulletin—alternatively entitled the Alumnae Association Annual Report and the Alumnae Quarterly. Look for issues published around the time buildings were completed or announced to find information.

Physical Collections

Although finding aids and research guides to the following collections may be available online, material listed here has not been digitized, but is available to researchers in the Bryn Mawr College Special Collections reading room upon request. Researchers unable to make it to Special Collections in person who are interested in using this material are encouraged to contact the archivist with their questions.

Alternatively, find more information about visiting Special Collections in person on our website: https://www.brynmawr.edu/lits/visit-special-collections.

Building Files

Available in the Special Collections Reading Room, these files consist of folders of article clippings and miscellaneous materials for most buildings on campus. They are made up of secondary source material and are meant for quick reference and to answer common questions about Bryn Mawr College buildings and are a starting point for building research.

President's Correspondence

The correspondence of some Bryn Mawr College presidents is available for use and contains documentation about buildings on campus. Correspondence is generally filed by subject or by correspondent, so reviewing finding aids for the names of buildings, architects, or builders is the most effective way to search for material related to College buildings. Although these records are not digitized, there are online finding aids available for some presidential materials.