Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bryn Mawr College Histories

Digital Collections

Reports of the President to the Board of Trustees

These reports contain information on academic departments at Bryn Mawr College, including some course offerings, although the exact content of the reports is variable year to year and the Reports were not published on a consistent schedule. Searching within reports for department names should quickly identify relevant sections.

Course Catalogs

Names and descriptions of courses from 1893 up until the 2009/10 academic year are available online.

Graduate Course Catalogs

The College's treatment of graduate courses has varied over the years. Between 1891-1903 and between 1980-2001 graduate courses were published separately from undergraduate courses. During the interim period, graduate courses are included in the general course catalog.

Physical Collections

Although finding aids and research guides to the following collections may be available online, material listed here has not been digitized, but is available to researchers in the Bryn Mawr College Special Collections reading room upon request. Researchers unable to make it to Special Collections in person who are interested in using this material are encouraged to contact the archivist with their questions.

Alternatively, find more information about visiting Special Collections in person on our website: https://www.brynmawr.edu/lits/visit-special-collections.

Publications

Researchers interested in how the Bryn Mawr College curriculum has developed over the years can find information both in archival records and in published material. The book A Century Recalled: Essays in Honor of Bryn Mawr College (1987) contains essays on the origins of academic departments at Bryn Mawr. It is available for reference in the Special Collections reading room and in the stacks of the Canaday Library (Call Number: LD7063 .C4).

Promotional Material

The College Archives holds a collection of promotional materials published by Bryn Mawr that contain general descriptions of available programs. Researchers interested in viewing this material should contact the archivist and request Record Group 1AC. Promotional brochures arranged by date.

Departmental Records

This collection contains material by or about academic departments at Bryn Mawr. Although these records are by no means a complete account of the activities of any department, they do contain some insight into curriculum. Interested researchers should consult the finding aid for Record Group 4M and contact the archivist with requests about the departmental files they're interested in. Note that while there is no extensive description attached to the finding aid for RG 4M, researchers can find a list of the departments featured in this group in the Collection Organization menu on the right hand side of the page.

Commencement Programs

Bryn Mawr College commencement programs contain dissertation titles and, in most cases, a graduate's major. Visit Special Collections or contact the archivist for more information.