HIST 119: International History of the United States (HC) Spring 2020

Evans taught English, French, and science at a Friends school in Lebanon from 1919-1930. This collection includes letters, journals, and photographs.

Grant was an archaeologist, and these photographs of scenes and people were probably taken on a 1923-1933.

This collection consists of approximately 100 glass lantern slides of Palestine from the 1930s. Some were taken by Hunt during his travels there, while others were taken by the professional photographer C. (Khalil) Raad. Also included is a draft of Hunt’s book about his travels in the 1930s, which included time in Germany in addition to his time in the Middle East.

This sketchbook records life at the Friends Training Home in Brummana, Lebanon.

The Olivers were in charge of a Friends Mission School in Brummana, Syria (now Lebanon), where they also opened an orphanage, just prior to, during, and after World War I. They also traveled to Palestine. Their collection includes letters, reports on the orphanage, and photographs.

Eli and Sybil Jones were Quaker missionaries, most notably to the Middle East. They also traveled to England, Ireland, Norway, France, Germany, and Liberia. Contents of the collection include letters, diaries and journals, and photographs from their travels and their time as missionaries.

Eva Marshall Tota was born in South Dakota, and in 1927 traveled to Ramallah (then Palestine) to teach at a Friends school. She married Kahlil Totah in 1928, and they remained in Palestine until 1944. The collection includes letters and diaries from this period, as well as a diary kept by Kahlil while he was studying in Maine in 1904.

Belulah Hurley Waring did relief work in Europe after World War I, including in France, Germany, Austria, Poland, and Russia.
Alston Waring was a photographer. His photo albums include images of the Middle East, Egypt, Europe (both Eastern and Western), Central America, China, and India.

Diary entries discuss the history of the Friends School in Ramallah, religious reflection and discussions concerning the divides between Muslims, Jews, and Christians in Palestine, and discussions concerning the politics within Palestine. Jones also provides descriptions of the children she teaches at the school. In addition to the Jones's diary, the collection includes a certificate from the American Red Cross in Palestine thanking Jones for her service during WWI, four pages of typed diary entries dated 1946, and a typed poem, which is undated.