HIST 119: International History of the United States (HC) Spring 2020

Esther was a missionary in Japan from 1914 to 1916, and the collection includes her letters describing her time in Japan as well as photographs she took then.

Gilbert Bowles arrived in Japan in 1901, where he taught English at a Friends school. He was a founder of the Japan Peace Society. The Bowles moved to Hawaii in 1941, where they worked at Japanese internment camps. Materials related to post-World War II Licensed Agencies for Relief in Asia, specifically in the Philippines and Korea, are also included.

Included in this collection are photographs of the Philippines taken between 1900 and 1914. The photos were probably taken by colonial official Dean Worcester.

William and Catherine Cadbury spent most of their lives in China serving as missionaries, with William serving as a medical missionary beginning in 1909. Included in the collection are diaries of both William (1893-1958) and Catherine (1932-1967). Also included are numerous photos William took both during his time in China as well as while travelling to other Asian countries and to Europe.

Four hand-colored photographs of Beijing.

Douglas Borgstedt (1911-2001) was an editorial cartoonist whose work appeared in numerous newspapers and magazines such as The New Yorker. His cartoons cover many of the political themes of the time, both domestic and international; topics include apartheid, communism, Iran, Northern Ireland, the Middle East, Vietnam, the U.S.S.R., and China.

Diaries of Anne Collins on numerous trips, including to Europe, Latin America, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Africa.

Green was a Bank of America vice-president and representative in China in the 1980s. This collection includes reports and correspondence from his time there.

Photographs are primarily of groups in Japan, including school groups, while other photographs are of Japanese life and customs.

This collection includes the correspondence of Alice Lewis Pearson, who taught in Japan from 1905-1923.

Rhoads was a teacher and principal at Friends School, Tokyo, before, during, and after World War II. She also worked in Tunisia with refugees during the Algerian War.

Rich was the public relations director and relief administrator for the American Friends Service Committee in the 1930s and 1940s. In this capacity, he travelled to Spain in 1937 and India and China in 1943. The collection includes diaries from both trips.

Sharpless was a missionary in Japan from 1910 to 1942. Her letters describe her daily life and experiences there.

Published in New York, these scenes from Japan were meant to be viewed through a scope which would allow the viewer to see them in 3-D.

Green’s diary contains information about his daily life in China, as well as the political and economic situation.

Belulah Hurley Waring did relief work in Europe after World War I, including in France, Germany, Austria, Poland, and Russia.
Alston Waring was a photographer. His photo albums include images of the Middle East, Egypt, Europe (both Eastern and Western), Central America, China, and India.

This volume includes photos from Lingnan University students, doctors, the hospital floor plan, and Hong Kong, with captions in Chinese.

This volume is composed of photographs from the Friends' Mission in Tokyo, Japan. Included are photographs of the Friends' Girls' school, teacher's residences, teachers and students, views of Tokyo, classes of Sunday school children, and classes of calisthenics, flower arrangement, Koto (traditional Japanese instrument). One photograph of missionaries is labeled with the following names: G. Bowles, A.G. Lewis, I.E. Taber, William T. Ellis, and S. Ellis.

The two volumes describe Margaret Jenkin's trip to the Himalayan Mountains in 1912-1911 to visit her cousin, who is a missionary there.

William Nisbet, a retired business man, wrote letters to his mother and sister during his travels abroad in the 1860s. He traveled to countries in Europe, Asia, and Latin America.

The bulk of this collection is made up of letters and documents relating to Thompson's work at the Quang Ngai Rebabilitation Center in Vietnam

Contains correspondence between Jones and Helga Holbek, whose letters detail her relief work in post-World War II Europe. Also includes scrapbooks of travels in Europe, China, and Japan.

Includes materials from Cary's work with the AFSC, and his anti-Vietnam War activism.