HIST 119: International History of the United States (HC) Spring 2020

Babbitt served in Haverford Reconstruction Unit No. 1 in France during World War I, mostly at a hospital near Marne. The collection includes his diaries, letters, and photographs.

This collection includes photographs from WWI Europe. Photographs include those taken on the ship to Europe, at a hospital in France, and at a number of battlefields throughout Europe. This volume includes graphic images of war casualties.

Album of a trip taken to Portugal, Spain, Algeria, Italy, Greece, Czechoslovakia, and Germany by a Haverford student.

Douglas Borgstedt (1911-2001) was an editorial cartoonist whose work appeared in numerous newspapers and magazines such as The New Yorker. His cartoons cover many of the political themes of the time, both domestic and international; topics include apartheid, communism, Iran, Northern Ireland, the Middle East, Vietnam, the U.S.S.R., and China.

Diaries of Anne Collins on numerous trips, including to Europe, Latin America, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Africa.

Haines served in France with the American Friends Service Committee, particularly its reconstruction unit. The collection consists of his letters home to his father.

This collection consists of approximately 100 glass lantern slides of Palestine from the 1930s. Some were taken by Hunt during his travels there, while others were taken by the professional photographer C. (Khalil) Raad. Also included is a draft of Hunt’s book about his travels in the 1930s, which included time in Germany in addition to his time in the Middle East.

Jensen worked for the American Friends Service Committee in Mexico in 1940-1941 attempting to evacuate Spanish Civil War refugees.

MacMaster’s papers include his diary of his time in Germany from 1920 to 1950, where he worked with the Friends Center in Hamburg.

Eli and Sybil Jones were Quaker missionaries, most notably to the Middle East. They also traveled to England, Ireland, Norway, France, Germany, and Liberia. Contents of the collection include letters, diaries and journals, and photographs from their travels and their time as missionaries.

Rich was the public relations director and relief administrator for the American Friends Service Committee in the 1930s and 1940s. In this capacity, he travelled to Spain in 1937 and India and China in 1943. The collection includes diaries from both trips.

This World War II era correspondence is between Grover, who worked at the Office of War Information and Time magazine, and Freligh, an ambulance driver at the fronts in Italy and North Africa.

After being discharged from the Civilian Public Service in 1945, Smith went to Europe where he participated in reconstruction work in France, Poland, and Germany under the auspices of the American Friends Service Committee.

The Steeres were involved with relief work through the American Friends Service Committee after World War II, and helped to organize aid to Finland, Norway, and Poland. A section of the collection is devoted to relief work in Africa, Finland, Germany, and South Africa in the 1940s-1960s. The sections of notebooks/diaries and travel (mostly correspondence) may also be of interest.

Wood was a founding member of the American Civil Liberties Union, the American Friends Service Committee and the National Urban League. He was involved with the American Commission on Relief in Ireland, the Friends Ambulance Unit in Europe during World War I, and the Spanish Child Welfare Association, which provided assistance to Spanish children during the Civil War.

Belulah Hurley Waring did relief work in Europe after World War I, including in France, Germany, Austria, Poland, and Russia.
Alston Waring was a photographer. His photo albums include images of the Middle East, Egypt, Europe (both Eastern and Western), Central America, China, and India.

This album is entitled "Arrival of the American Friendshiptrain 'The Goodwill Train'" and the photos record the arrival in Dusseldorf, Germany on December 3, 1948.

Excerpts from Ella Bowles Newlin's travel journal from her trip with her husband from Iowa to England, Norway, and Germany. Entries describe the accommodations on board, Newlin's time in England, the voyage to Norway, and travel within Norway, and the cultural differences between America and Norway.

This collection is composed of the single volume scrapbook of Josiah P. Marvel, and includes Nazi documents, such as certificates and letters, from Marvels time in occupied France during the summer of 1940 while travelling to and from Paris in service to the American Friends Service Committee. Documents include permissions from Nazi commanders in France, as well as from The Hague and Brussels. Also included is a map of the location of prison camps, clothing lists and a printed booklet on the National Work for Infants.

Leonard Stout Kenworthy's "Quaker Berlin Diary." In his entries, Kenworthy describes his experiences in Germany during World War II working with German Quakers to assist unaffiliated German Jews to leave Germany.

William Nisbet, a retired business man, wrote letters to his mother and sister during his travels abroad in the 1860s. He traveled to countries in Europe, Asia, and Latin America.

This collection contains the papers of Marlis Gildemeister, a graduate of Haverford College's master's program in Relief & Restoration program and a volunteer with American Friends Service Committee in Austria after World War II. The materials in this collection span the years 1946 to 2007, and are mostly related to relief work and aid to refugees in the turmoil following the second world war. Some of the materials are in German.

Phillips's letters describe her time with the YWCA in France as a relief worker following World War I.

Contains correspondence between Jones and Helga Holbek, whose letters detail her relief work in post-World War II Europe. Also includes scrapbooks of travels in Europe, China, and Japan.

from 1917