Research Guides: EALC 200: Approaches to the Study of East Asian Cultures (HC/BMC) Spring 2017: Japan

Columbia History of Japanese Literature

This four volume set is among the best collections of primary source writings. It has a broader range of sources than most earlier collections. Within each volume the sources are arranged chronologically and then by genre. A useful feature of all of the volumes is that they each have a bibliography which direct you to other primary source materials as well as explanatory secondary sources.

Traditional Japanese literature: an anthology, beginnings to 1600
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early modern Japanese literature: an anthology, 1600-1900
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Columbia anthology of modern Japanese literature
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The modern period is covered in two volumes. The first volume covers 1868-1945 and the second volume covers 1945 to 2005.

Japanese Theater - Collections

Traditional Japanese theater: an anthology of plays
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"...collects for the first time in one volume the most celebrated plays in all the important genres of traditional Japanese theater - nobk̃yogen, kabuki, and puppet theater." An interesting feature is that it includes photographs from the performances of the plays. A useful glossary starts on page 525.
Kabuki plays on stage
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over fifty plays in four volumes.
Masterworks of the Nō theater
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Each play is preceded by a useful introduction.

Japanese Prose

Classical Japanese prose: an anthology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selection of a wide variety of types of prose from the Heian period. For other readings check the "Selected Bibliography of Works in English Translation" starting on page 574.
Modanizumu: modernist fiction from Japan, 1913-1938
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Has translations of twenty-five stories and novellas. Also good prefatory materials.

Japanese Poetry - Collections

Traditional Japanese poetry: an anthology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Check the bibliography starting on page 489 for listings of other translations.
From the country of eight islands: an anthology of Japanese poetry
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Penguin book of Japanese verse
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Japanese women poets: an anthology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A Waka anthology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A huge collection of Waka poetry.