Research Guides: WRPR 101: Finding a Voice (HC): Spanish

Spanish

Yamila Cartannilica, Statue of the writer Julio Cortázar, 2014, Buenos Aires, gardens of the Biblioteca Nacional (Wikimedia Commons, CC 4.0)

Blogs and News

Ethnic Newswatch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals published in America for ethnic audiences. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Covers Hispanic American publications from 1959 to the present.

Jewish Latin America- Blog
Reflections on literature and art. Content in Spanish and English.
El Pais
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major newspaper from Spain published in Madrid.

Companions and Handbooks

The companion and handbook genre is a publication type that has flourished in the last decade. The goal is for leading scholars to provide a thorough description of the subject matter of a field while also giving the most current interpretations of key questions. Each essay in a companion reflects an important subject facet and identifies the books and articles which are crucial for a greater understanding

Oxford Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks related to Iberian, Latin American and Latino Studies
Blackwell Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Blackwell Handbooks for Latin American Studies
Routledge Handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks related to Spanish and Latin American studies

Literature Reviews

Literature reviews are a particularly useful resource when doing research. They address the issues involved in a specific question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding. It is one of the best places to find discussion of issues that are unresolved or in contention

Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated peer-reviwed bibliographies of topics spanning the Latin American studies field, from 16th-Century New Spain to Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas.
Oxford Bibliographies in Latino Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on key areas of Latino/Latina/Latinx Studies. Includes contributions from historians, sociologists, anthropologists, political scientists, demographers, and linguists, as well as religion, ethnicity, and culture scholars.

Journal Indexes

DialNet
This is a virtual library of Ibero-American scholarship, hosted by the University de la Rioja in Spain. It indexes more than 11,000 journals and 8+ million documents. There are a growing number of full text articles available as content is continuously updated. All subjects covered including the humanities, social and natural sciences.

Informe Académico
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of Latin American academic journals in social sciences, humanities, science and medicine. Also covers popular Latin American and Hispanic magazines and newspapers.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas (PRISMA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of Hispanic studies, from research on indigenous cultures past and present to current economic indicators, politics, society, and Hispanic theater. Includes works in English and Spanish. Also includes the content from HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) covering Latinx studies.

Major Journals

Bulletin of Latin American Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes original research on Latin America, the Caribbean, inter-American relations and the Latin American Diaspora from all academic disciplines within the Social Sciences and Humanities. They also publish a substantial section of book reviews for publications in English, Spanish and Portuguese.
Hispanic Issues Online
This open-access, refereed scholarly electronic journal publishes theme issues on Hispanic and Lusophone cultures. It features new research dealing with Literary Criticism, Theory and Historiography, Popular and Mass Culture, Hispanic Cultural Studies, Literature and Institutions, and Hispanic Sociolinguistics
Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies (JSCS) is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles on all historical periods and cultural disciplines.

Associations and Conferences

The American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP)
Promotes the study and teaching of the Spanish and Portuguese languages and their corresponding Hispanic, Luso-Brazilian and other related literatures and cultures at all levels of education. See the Conference and Publications tabs for examples of recent scholarly interests.
Modern Language Association
National organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. Under the Convention tab, see conference presenters and their paper titles. See also announcements about books, reports and other resources relating to Spanish on the website.

Staying Current

Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Resources
Database with links to open access digitized collections of primary sources. From the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials.
Latino Stories
Features resources, interviews, author lists and book reviews relating to Latino Latinx literature and culture.

More Resources at Haverford

Subject librarians make research guides for individual classes and for topics. Browse for information on different subjects. See this introduction to research guides video for more information. Research guides for courses in Spanish include: