1) Looking for journal articles by the article title: "Lyric Bodies: Poets on Disability and Masculinity"
2) Looking by the journal name: Publications of the Modern Language Association of America
- Check Tripod Books and Media, where all journals, as well as newspapers and popular magazines, are listed by title.
Tip: Change Keyword in the search box to Journal Title
3) Looking for journal articles by subject:
- Use journal databases where you can apply a full range of search techniques to find scholarship on your topic. See the Searching tab for more details.
- Identifying which database/s to search is a strategic choice:
- Multi-disciplinary databases, sometimes with magazines and newspapers included. They cover the top-tier journals but will not go into depth in all subject areas:
- Proquest Research Library: Enhance your PRL search by choosing a subject area with its related databases or adding individual databases from the link at the top of the page.
- Web of Science: Covers the humanities and social sciences as well
- JSTOR: All articles are full-text and come from quality journals; but the latest 3 to 5 years of articles are usually not included.
- Subject-specific databases give more in-depth coverage of topics.
- The Research Guides website outlines the major databases by subject area. It also includes resource lists for classes and for categories like news and government information. The Research Guides site can be searched by word or phrase (in quotations) to find something specific.
- For your paper you may be doing some research in a specific subject. See the tabs on this guide for specific fields in the Humanities, Sciences and Social Sciences for major indexes in each area.
4) Accessing journal articles online and in print
Online journals are often available from more than one source. The Tripod Find It menu directs you to the sources and shows the years covered. If you have multiple choices, the university presses, JSTOR, and Project Muse offer the best functionality.