HIST 037: History and Memory: Holocaust (SC)

Collection of primary sources of various types (e.g. letters, diaries, photographs) representing Jewish experiences of the Holocaust.

• Selected by the US Holocaust Memorial Museum
• Sources are presented with contextual information and are translated into English.
• Topics include: Artistic Responses to Persecution; Gender, Sexuality, and the Holocaust; Holocaust Diaries; Postwar Justice

The Visual History Archive® is USC Shoah Foundation’s online portal that allows users to search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Archive has expanded significantly to include survivor and witness testimony from four other genocidal events: the Armenian Genocide (1915-1923), the Nanjing Massacre (1937), the Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda (1994) and the Guatemalan Genocide (1978-1996).

Collection of oral histories of Holocaust survivors. For each interview, you can listen to the original audio, read an English translation, and read a transcript in the interview language.

Collection of video testimonies by Holocaust survivors, made available by the Yale Libraries

Large collection of recordings and transcripts for interviews with Holocaust survivors who later emigrated to the US. Interviews are broken down by topic and chronology. Some include video as well as audio.

Includes links to video and audio testimonies, as well as other sources

Collection of photographs of Holocaust memorial sites from around the world (Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies, University of Minnesota)

Collection of stamps, coins, and currency that commemorate the Holocaust (Center for Holocaust & Genocide Studies, University of Minnesota)

The University of Minnesota has put together websites on 27 memorials around the world dedicated to holocaust victims.

Extensive online collections of photography and other documents

Collections of various kinds of documents related to the Holocaust

An annotated list of links to primary source collections related to the Holocaust. Use this list to find oral histories, diaries, and more.

"A phenomenon for the most part of the late 1950s, the 1960s, and the early 1970s, the yizkor books evoked by the Holocaust were edited, privately printed, and distributed (often free of charge) by committees of survivors of many hundreds of the former Jewish population centers of eastern Europe, and generally they culminate in lists of community members who did not survive the war."