This single-volume encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust. It includes studies on the political, social, religious, & moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, & individuals.
Available as a print book and an ebook
The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos During the Holocaust by Guy Miron (Editor); Michael Berenbaum
Call Number: S McCabe Reference (1st fl) D805.A2 Y33 2009
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
This two-volume encyclopedia gathers data from historical studies, testimonies, and documents dealing with more than 1,100 ghettos throughout Eastern Europe. This encyclopedia offers detailed entries on the various ghettos into which the Jews of Eastern Europe were confined during the Holocaust. Entries on each ghetto are written by scholars and specialists on their topic and include location, wartime name, and geographical coordinates, and, for the larger ghettos, information on life before World War II and during the Soviet occupation era, German (Nazi) occupation, ghetto structure, institutional life and leadership, terror and killing operations, underground resistance, and the number of survivors at liberation. They also describe the differences between each ghetto and examine the difficulties of daily life in the ghetto, coping strategies, and different forms of resistance.
Available as a print book.
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945 by Geoffrey P. Megargee; United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Staff
Call Number: S McCabe Reference (1st fl) and H Magill D805.A2 E53 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Behind the well-known names, such as Auschwitz, Dachau, Treblinka, and Warsaw, there was a vast universe of more than 42,000 facilities. Each volume of this set addresses a group of sites. In this way, the reader can gain some appreciation for the conditions at a particular site as well as for the way in which the system functioned as a whole. Photographs, charts, and maps supplement the text.
Available as a print book.
Holocaust Literature by S. Lillian Kremer (Editor)
Call Number: S McCabe Reference (1st fl) and H Magill PN56.H55 H66 2003
Publication Date: 2002-12-20
Featuring 300 alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting the Holocaust. Includes authors who wrote in languages other than English.
Available as an ebook and print book.
Historical Dictionary of Holocaust Cinema by Robert C. Reimer; Carol J. Reimer
Call Number: S McCabe Ref (1st fl) PN1995.9.H53 R46 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-12
The Historical Dictionary of Holocaust Cinema examines the history of how the Holocaust is presented in film, including documentaries, feature films, and television productions. It contains a chronology of events needed to give the films and their reception a historical context, an introductory essay, a bibliography, a filmography of more than 600 titles, and over 100 cross-referenced dictionary entries on films, directors, and historical figures. Foreign language films and experimental films are included, as well as canonical films.
Bearing Witness: a resource guide to literature, poetry, art, music, and videos by Holocaust victims and survivors by Philip Rosen; Nina Apfelbaum
Call Number: S McCabe Ref (1st fl) Z6374.H6 R67 2002
Publication Date: 2001-11-30
This resource guide will help readers locate over 800 first-person accounts, fiction, poetry, art interpretations, and music by Holocaust victims and survivors, as well as videos relating the testimony and experiences of Holocaust survivors. Also includes introductory essays.
World War II
The Oxford Companion to World War II by I. C. B. Dear (Editor); M. R. D. Foot (Editor)
Call Number: S McCabe Reference (1st fl) D740 .O94 2001
Publication Date: 2002-01-24
1750 entries covering the very wide-ranging topics that make up the single subject of World War II. Entries include: surveys of major countries: France, Germany, Australia, India, USA, Japan, including sections in each about domestic life, culture, economics, government, resistance, and defense
Available as a print book and an ebook (at Swarthmore)
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust by Shmuel Spector (Editor); Geoffrey Wigoder (Editor); Elie Wiesel (Introduction by)
Call Number: S McCabe Reference (1st fl) and H Magill DS135.E8 E45 2001
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
This 3-volume encyclopedia focuses on Jewish life before WWII (cutting off in Sept. 1939). In addition to entries describing life in Jewish communities before the war, you can use this book to find maps of major Jewish centers and labor and concentration camps, organizations (*knowing these names can help you find primary sources*), and readings focusing on specific countries.
Available as a print book
Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture by Judith R. Baskin (Editor)
Call Number: S McCabe Ref (1st fl) BM50 .C26 2011
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
This reference work differs from many others in its broad exploration of the Jewish experience beyond Judaism. Entries discuss secular and political movements and achievements and delineate Jewish endeavors in literature, art, music, theater, dance, film, broadcasting, sports, science, medicine and ecology, among many other topics from the Bible to the Internet.