Skip to main content

Endnote: A How-To Guide

Finding & Inserting Citations

While you are writing your paper in Microsoft Word, you can easily find and insert a citation using EndNote's Insert Citations tool.
Note: You first have to install the Cite While You Write feature. 

To find and cite your source:

  1. With your Word document open, place the cursor in the location where the citation should appear.
  2. Click the Insert Citations button in the EndNote toolbar. 
  3. Enter a search term to find the reference or references to insert, and click Find.
  4. Select the desired reference. To insert multiple references in one citation, click each reference while holding the Ctrl key.
  5. Click the Insert button to insert the standard citation or choose from these additional options:
  • Insert & Exclude Author
  • Insert & Exclude Year

Cited References

The citation appears at the cursor location, formatted according to the bibliographic style specified. The reference information is also automatically added to the bibliography.

If you want to delete or modify a citation in your Word document, refer to the list below.

Ways to modify a citation

From: http://www.myendnoteweb.com/help/en_us/ENW/hw_citereference.htm

Format Bibliography

Each time you find and insert a citation in your document, the bibliography automatically formats according to the style selected.  You can change the bibliographic style or other layout options in the Format Bibliography window.

  1. On the EndNote tab in Word, in the Bibliography group, click the bottom corner arrow. 
  2. In the Format Bibliography box, select the style from the With Output Style drop-down menu. 
  3. If desired, modify the font and size for the references in the Bibliography.
  4. If desired, change the layout (e.g. add a bibliography title or change to double-spaced).
  5. Click the OK button.

This will format your citations and bibliography according to the style and appearance specified.

Bibliography

From: http://www.myendnoteweb.com/help/en_us/ENW/hw_bibliography.htm