Research Guides: WRPR 164: Materiality and Spectacle in 19th C. U.S. (HC) Spring 2022: Journal Articles

Start here to find articles:

America: History and Life
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles and essays in books on United States and Canadian history. (For articles on non-US history topics, search the Historical Abstracts database.)
If the link does not take you directly to the database, choose EBSCOHost Web. On the next page, check off America: History and Life and hit the Continue button at the top of the page.
Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly journal articles in Anthropology.

Multidisciplinary Indexes

Use these journal databases where you can apply a full range of search techniques to find scholarship on your topic. These include choosing exact terminology, using Boolean operators AND, OR and NOT to define the relationships among search terms, and employing strategies for precise results with nesting, phrase searches, truncation, field searching, and sorting results. See the Search Tips tab for more details.

They cover the top-tier journals but will not go into depth in the different subject areas:

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Important for the quality of articles and because it indexes every article in full. In that way you can locate names and other specific details. But note that the most recent issues of journals (three to five years or more) are not included in JSTOR. Use an additional database if you need very current information.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find multidisciplinary scholarly articles (sciences, social sciences, and humanities). Citation searching also allows search for highly cited articles and books.

Tracking Citations Forward in Time

Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand.
Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available.

This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic. By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
When you connect, choose the Cited References option to begin.
Enter the author's name: e.g., giberti b* Last name first, First name initial only with asterisk. [Author of Designing the Centennial, University Press of Kentucky, 2002]
Skip Cited Work box
Put the publication year in the Cited Year(s) box
On the next screen, sort the results by Cited Work, choose the relevant results and hit "See Results."
The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.
Use the search box and filters on the left to refine your results.
Note also the References link on the far right. It gives you an immediate view of the bibliographies from the Cited References you have just found.
Google Scholar
To search for cited references in Google Scholar, enter the title of the article or book in quotation marks. In the results list, check the link Cited by [number] for material citing the title you have entered.
Bonus Google Scholar includes books in its results. Web of Science is limited to journal articles only.
Minus Google Scholar takes all material on the web in which your chosen book or article appears. You need to evaluate the results to find scholarly treatments of your topic.

WRPR 164: Materiality and Spectacle in 19th C. U.S. (HC) Spring 2022

Using Journal Articles

Start here to find articles:

Multidisciplinary Indexes

More Resources for Scholarly Articles from Additional Subject Areas

Tracking Citations Forward in Time