Research Guides: WRPR 164: Materiality and Spectacle in 19th C. U.S. (HC) Spring 2022: Parades, Pageants, Tableaux

Resources in Haverford Special Collections

The book of the pageant: Philadelphia, October 9th, 1908
By Ellis Oberholtzer.
Mummers, Phila.
Photo by Sol Mednick, 1950.
Soldiers Brought Home from Philippines or Cuba
Photography by James David Givens, ca. 1898.
Untitled [parade]
Photograph ca. 1898
Charles Lindbergh Parade
Photograph from 1927
Broadside of Grand Historic Mirror American War!
Broadside for Alexander's Panorama of the Anitdiluvian World

Collections, Links & Images

Fourth of July Postcards
This blog entry about early 20th century postcards presents celebrations and symbols for the national holiday.
100 Years Ago, The 1913 Women's Suffrage Parade
Photographs from the 1913 suffrage parade capture the symbols, the wide participation, and the logistics of involving large groups.
Parlor tableaux and amateur theatricals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This book from 1866 provides descriptions and readings for groups who want to stage their own tableaux. See also the digital copy at Hathi Trust.
Studying Community Festivals
Anthropologist Audrey Shalinsky here outlines a series of issues and questions to consider when studying parades and festivals.
Tableaux Vivants
This introductory webpage from the University of Chicago's Theories of Media site includes a brief bibliography.

Major Image Collections for U.S. History

American Memory This link opens in a new window
Provides information on, and access to, digitized versions of primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.
JSTOR Images (formerly Artstor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
The DPLA allows you to search millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the library or other content provider's website.

Flickr: The Commons
Images from many of the world's public photo archives, described by Flickr users so that some are very richly described.
Smithsonian Collections Search
Search over 8.59 million catalog records of museum objects, and library & archives materials. More than 963,000 of these records contain online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources.

Parades, Pageants, Tableaux: Scholarly Studies

Glassberg, David, “The New Pageantry,” in American Historical Pageantry : The Uses of Tradition in the Early Twentieth Century (Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press), 1990

Bellion, Wendy, Citizen Spectator : Art, Illusion and Visual Perception in Early National America, (Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press), 2011.