WRPR 164: Materiality and Spectacle in 19th C. U.S. (HC) Spring 2022

T. Wistar Brown (1826-1916) scrapbook.

A scrapbook of Quaker materials, which contains many photographs, particularly of Quaker meeting houses, as well as printed reports, epistles, and printed certificates.

Roberts (HC 1864) was a book and autograph collector; these scrapbooks contain clipped signatures of 19th century officials and envelopes.

Correspondence, clippings, tracts and other misc. papers of Josiah W. Leeds related to his interest in various areas of social reform. Includes published editorials, articles and tracts by Leeds on peace, temperance, "pernicious" literature and art, the theater, John Wycliffe, simplicity of attire, "social purity," secret societies, gambling and other related concerns

Kept by Richard M. Jones, 1884-1901.

Presented to her daughter in 1836, the scrapbook contains illustrations of Biblical scenes and famous people and places.

This scrapbook of a nineteenth century New York woman includes materials from the history of Quakerism.

Thomas was a member of the Haverford class of 1896.

Scrapbook from 1877-1881 documenting life in Memphis and travel in the Southern US and Europe

Scrapbook from the mid-19th century which features includes portraits of Shoemaker's family, sketches of meeting houses, plants found on his travels, and landscapes, including landscapes of South Carolina, Louisiana, western prairies, Spanish Missions in Texas, Pennsylvania, and Yosemite.

The scrapbooks are largely comprised of clippings, pamphlets, and brochures related to travel, bicycling, Haverford College, news and events, and the history of Philadelphia and Germantown.

The photo album follows an individual's month-long journey from Chicago, Illinois, through Canada and the northwestern, southwestern, and central portions of the United States. Photographs are mostly of nature scenes, with some railroads and bridges included, as well as photographs of the Chicago Stock Yards.

This baby book covers the life of John Sharpless Klein from his birth on September 9, 1922, though his high school graduation in 1940. His mother, Katharine Klein, filled out the pages of the book and also inserted cards and notes from relatives, as well as additional commentary.

Interview with an art historian who has written extensively about memorials. His books include Monument Wars and Standing Soldiers, Kneeling Slaves: Race, War, and Monument in Nineteenth Century America. The hosting website is Monument Lab.

"Commemorative Landscapes of North Carolina" documents the state's history through a spatially based presentation of commemorative monuments, shrines, and public art. This digital collection enables users to visualize and analyze the historical memory of the state of North Carolina by viewing famous and little known sites of memory on modern and historic maps. Sites are linked to a wide variety of resources - postcards, photographs, printed publications, newspapers clippings, and manuscript materials - that reveal when, how, and where North Carolinians have commemorated their past. The collection also encourages users to reflect on what parts of their history North Carolinians have elected not to commemorate as well as how the commemorative landscape of the state is likely to change in the future.

In 1895 Goode was the Assistant Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution. He delivered this speech to the Museums Association members in Newcastle, England. See a summary of his talk on the Smithsonian website.

Images from many of the world's public photo archives, described by Flickr users so that some are very richly described.

Search over 8.59 million catalog records of museum objects, and library & archives materials. More than 963,000 of these records contain online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources.