WRPR 193: Slavery in Ancient Greece and Rome (HC): Mythology

In addition to the complete texts of the Homeric Hymns and Hesiod's Theogony, this collection provides generous selections from over 50 texts composed between the Archaic Age and the fourth century AD. Ancient interpretation of myth is represented here in selections from philosophers and historians. Appendices treat evidence from inscriptions, papyri and Linear B tablets and include a thematic index, a mythological dictionary, and genealogies.

Presents a series of essays that explore the phenomenon of Greek myth from its origins through its development as a shared language and thought-system for the Greco-Roman world. Features essays from a prestigious international team of scholars. Includes coverage of Greek myth's intersection with history, philosophy and religion.

Professor Roger Woodard brings together a group of the worlds most authoritative scholars of classical myth to present a thorough treatment of all aspects of Greek mythology. Sixteen original articles guide the reader through all aspects of the ancient mythic tradition and its influence around the world and in later years. The articles examine the forms and uses of myth in Greek oral and written literature, from the epic poetry of 8th century BC to the mythographic catalogues of the early centuries AD. They examine the relationship between myth, art, religion and politics among the ancient Greeks and its reception and influence on later society from the Middle Ages to present day literature, feminism and cinema. This Companion volumes comprehensive coverage makes it ideal reading for students of Greek mythology and for anyone interested in the myths of the ancient Greeks and their impact on western tradition.

This book explores the neglected evidence for a uniquely Roman mythology. Inspiring writers, artists, and statesmen throughout the ages, the myths of Rome, both in terms of iconography and literature, had a great impact on Roman culture and history,.

"Throughout his comprehensive text, Robin Hard presents a clear, lucid account of the complex and sometimes contradictory mass of legends that functioned for the Greeks as the history of their origins, without losing the local color and archetypal meaning they have for the modern reader. The narrative framework of the book remains that of Rose, with helpful signposting so that the book can be used as a reference work. The text also includes full documentation of the ancient sources, maps and genealogical tables. Illustrated throughout with numerous photographs and line drawings, it will be the definitive account of ancient Greek mythology for generations to come."--BOOK JACKET.

This website brings together a rich collection of art images, literature, and information about Greek gods and heroes. There is extensive treatment of individual divinities and mortals.