Research Guides: CSTS 216: Sex and Power in the Ancient World (HC): History and Criticism

Finding Scholarly Studies in Books

Use the Tripod catalog This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Bryn Mawr, and Swarthmore.

The following subject searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a title search in the Tripod Catalog to find some relevant material and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books.

(sexual* OR erotic*) [Title] AND (greek OR greece OR classical) [Keyword]

(sex* greece history ) [Subject search]

("same sex" OR homoerotic*) [Keyword] AND (greece OR greek OR classical) [Subject] (newest titles listed first)

Tripod Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod to find relevant scholarship owned by the tri-college libraries. Change the resource group on the search bar to limit results to specific materials like books and films.
Use the Request link in an item's record to have it delivered to the library of your choice . Note that you need to log into Tripod in order to see the Request link. If you are already in Tripod, use the Sign In link at the top of every page to log in..

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing beyond the Tri-Co
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1. E-Z Borrow - Request books that are not available in Tripod. It usually takes three days or less for E-Z Borrow books to arrive.
2. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Request books not in E-Z Borrow. They can come in as little as four or five days. Also use ILL to request films, dissertations, sound recordings, and other materials.
3. Articles - Request journal articles not available in your college library. You will receive digital copies of the articles in your email sometimes as quickly as the following day.

Selected Essay Collections

Ancient Obscenities by Dorota Dutsch; Ann Suter
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2015-11-18
Essays in this volume interpret materials perceived by generations as "obscene": the explicit sexual references of Greek iambic poetry, Aristophanic abusive insults, and sexuality in the law.. Other essays venture into texts not immediately associated with the obscene, including the Orphic Hymn to Demeter and Herodotus.. The volume also includes a chapter devoted to visual representation.
Ancient Sex: New Essays by Ruby Blondell (Editor); Kirk Ormand
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2015-07-20
Ancient Sex takes up Foucault's call for discursive analysis and elucidates some of the ways that ancient Greek and Roman texts and visual arts articulate a culturally specific discourse about sexual matters. This volume emphasizes in particular: sexual discourses about women; the interaction between sexual identities and class status; gender as an unstable discursive category and the relationships between ancient and modern sexual categories.
A Cultural History of Sexuality in the Classical World by Mark Golden (Editor); Peter Toohey (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781472539205
Publication Date: 2014-01-16
This collection of essays covers sexual practices, feelings, and ideas from the time of Homer to the transformation of the Roman Empire. It presents an overview of the period with essays on heterosexuality, homosexuality, sexual variations, religious and legal issues, health concerns, popular beliefs about sexuality, prostitution and erotica.
Greek Prostitutes in the Ancient Mediterranean, 800 BCE-200 CE by Allison Glazebrook (Editor); Madeleine M. Henry (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780299235642
Publication Date: 2011-01-06
Essays in this volume challenge the often-romanticized view of the prostitute as an urbane and liberated courtesan by examining the social and economic realities of the sex industry in Greco-Roman culture. Departing from the conventional focus on elite society, these essays consider the Greek prostitute as displaced foreigner, slave, and member of an urban underclass.
Narrating Desire by Marília P. Futre Pinheiro (Editor); Marilyn B. Skinner (Editor); Froma I. Zeitlin (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783110281828
Publication Date: 2012-06-14
Representation of desiring subjects in the novel is one of the most illuminating issues in the area of ancient gender and sexuality, for such narratives subject societal norms to acute critique. Employing feminist and psychoanalytic approaches, each offers a provocative investigation of sexual subjectivity as presented in the text or texts under discussion.

Finding Scholarly Studies in Journals

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annèe Philologique is useful for researchers in the classics, philosophy, history, art, archaeology, and the humanities. It contains publication information for articles for the years 1924 to the present.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new window
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.

Finding Book Reviews

Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Publishes open-access, peer-refereed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies.

Book Review Index
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications. Covers 1965-present.

Classical Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes only book reviews, averaging 90 full-length reviews per issue. The viewpoints are generally critical and informed.