Research Guides: WRPR 191 Constructions of Race and Ethnicity in the Classical World (HC): Philosophy and Religion

Philosophy

The Cambridge companion to Greek and Roman philosophy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a a wide-ranging introduction to the study of philosophy in the ancient world. It surveys the developments of the period and evaluates a comprehensive series of major thinkers, ranging from Pythagoras to Epicurus.

A Companion to Ancient Philosophy by Mary Louise Gill (Editor); Pierre Pellegrin (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2006-07-10
Provides a comprehensive overview of the history of ancient Greek and Roman philosophy from its origins until late antiquity. Comprises an extensive collection of original essays, featuring contributions from both rising stars and senior scholars of ancient philosophy. Integrates analytic and continental traditions. Explores the development of various disciplines, such as mathematics, logic, grammar, physics, and medicine, in relation to ancient philosophy.

Philosopher's Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, anthology contributions and book reviews published worldwide. Topics covered include: ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Covers 1940-present. Contains over 328,000 records as of August 2005. Monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries.

Religion

ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to scholarly journal articles and essays in the field of religion.

A Companion to Greek Religion by Daniel Ogden (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2007-03-20
"A Companion to Greek Religion covers all aspects of religion in the ancient Greek world from the archaic, through the classical, and into the hellenistic period. Each of the volume's 27 essays is written by an international expert and provides a survey of a particular area that reflects contemporary scholarship. All the contributions place an emphasis on religious life as it was experienced by Greek men and women at different times and in different places. Myth is considered alongside religion throughout."--BOOK JACKET.
A Companion to Roman Religion by Jörg Rüpke (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2007-08-21
A comprehensive treatment of the significant symbols and institutions of Roman religion, this companion places the various religious symbols, discourses, and practices, including Judaism and Christianity, into a larger framework to reveal the sprawling landscape of the Roman religion.
Religions of Rome by Mary Beard; John North; Simon Price
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0521316820
Publication Date: 1998-06-28
This book offers a radical new survey of more than a thousand years of religious life in Rome, from the foundation of the city to its rise to world empire and its conversion to Christianity. It sets religion in its full cultural context, between the primitive hamlet of the eighth century BC and the cosmopolitan, multicultural society of the first centuries of the Christian era. Accompanied by a volume of primary source documents in translation.
Religions of the Ancient World by Sarah Iles Johnston (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0674015177
Publication Date: 2004-11-30
Religious beliefs and practices, which permeated all aspects of life in antiquity, traveled well-worn routes throughout the Mediterranean: itinerant charismatic practitioners journeying from place to place peddled their skills as healers, purifiers, cursers, and initiators; and vessels decorated with illustrations of myths traveled with them. New gods encountered in foreign lands by merchants and conquerors were sometimes taken home to be adapted and adopted. A full understanding of this complex spiritual world unfolds in Religions of the Ancient World, the first basic reference work that collects and organizes available information to offer an expansive, comparative perspective.