Skip to Main Content

Black Studies Research Proposal Resources (SC)

Tools and tips for identifying scholarly literature in Black Studies (Swarthmore)

Discipline-Specific Research Tools

Use TriCo Libraries Research Guides to identify
research tools for particular academic disciplines.

Here are some recommended databases:

Education

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources.
Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.

Sociology

Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and book reviews in Sociology

History

America: History and Life
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles on US History
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles on history outside of the US

Anthropology & Ethnography

Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles in Anthropology - use the FindIt button to get the full PDFs

Religion

ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from scholarly journals in religion

Health & Medicine

PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free database of biomedical and related life and behavioral sciences journal articles. Includes MEDLINE index and links to PubMed Central open access articles when available.

Economics

EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts to economic journals, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Coverage 1969-present.