Research Guides: ANTH 313: Sex Work, Political Economy, and Capital (HC): Finding Relevant Books

Finding Books

Use TRIPOD BOOKS AND MORE to find books, journals (but not articles within them), and videos owned by the Tri-College libraries.

Use WorldCat to find books not held by the Tri-College libraries.

In order to find books in either catalog, search for topics in the following ways:

Keyword Search:

E.g., (gender OR women) AND (ethnograph* OR anthropolog*) [Use the asterisk to get root words with different endings- gender and gendered. Use capitals for OR to build subject groups]

"feminist ethnography" [Put phrases in quotation marks to get results only with the words together]

(See the Search Tips tab for more information on how to construct keyword searches.)

Subject Search:

(Use the Browse Books & More link to find additional subject headings.)

Tripod: Books and More
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing Beyond the Tri-Co
Request items that are not available in Tripod through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan. Note that E-Z Borrow is the first place to look for books not in Tripod. It usually takes just three days for E-Z Borrow books to arrive. Books not in E-Z Borrow can come from Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which may take as little as four or five days to arrive.

For journal articles not available in the three colleges, use the Article Delivery form. In around 3 days you will receive a digital copy of the requested articles in your email.

Annual Review of Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Review articles covering the discipline of anthropology including the subfields of archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics, regional studies, and sociocultural anthropology. 1972-present.
Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on anthropology.
Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.