This tab includes further information on handbooks, dictionaries and bibliographies. Bibliographies are sources that contain detailed information about where to find further information on a specific topic or subject. Sometimes these look like the bibliographies you might compile at the end of a term paper. Sometimes they are books or online resources with a list of resources. Other times they act like annotated bibliographies, with short essays or statements describing the resource and why it might be useful to a researcher. Bibliographies differ from handbooks because they go into further depth on a topic. They typically include critical essays where the author identifies the core literature of a field of study. It illustrates what is available in a given field, while a literature review opens up questions for new inquiries.
This collection of resources contains over 14 volumes, each covering a different period of time in Chinese history. This excellent resource can provide students with background essays on various topics and includes a detailed bibliography for each chapter. HIGHLY recommended.
Articles conclude with useful suggestions for further readings. Includes a large collection of primary sources at the end of the volume. Has an annotated bibliography, but it is arranged alphabetically by author.
The Columbia Guide to Modern Chinese History by R. Keith Schoppa
This valuable reference contains: a historical narrative providing a comprehensive overview of five core aspects of Chinese history: domestic politics, society, the economy, the world of culture and thought, and relations with the outside world; a compendium of 250 short, descriptive articles on key figures, events, and terms; a resource guide containing approximately 500 annotated entries for the most authoritative sources for further research in English, as well as descriptions of important films depicting modern China and a guide to electronic resources; and appendices, including a chronology, excerpts from key primary source documents, and a wealth of tables and graphs on demographic, social, and economic trends.
This Companion provides a comprehensive overview of the influences that have shaped modern-day Japan. Spanning one and a half centuries from the Meiji Restoration in 1868 to the beginning of the twenty-first century, this volume covers topics such as technology, food, nationalism and rise of anime and manga in the visual arts. The Cambridge Companion to Modern Japanese Culture traces the cultural transformation that took place over the course of the twentieth century, and paints a picture of a nation rich in cultural diversity. With contributions from some of the most prominent scholars in the field, The Cambridge Companion to Modern Japanese Culture is an authoritative introduction to this subject.
The Columbia Guide to Modern Japanese History by Gary D. Allinson
Japan's transformation from an isolated society to a military empire and, after a crushing defeat in World War II, into one of the world's foremost economic powers is one of the most fascinating stories of modern history. Although much has been written about modern Japan, no reference book has analyzed its political, economic, social, and cultural history to render a holistic account of the sweeping changes Japan has undergone since 1850. Now, with The Columbia Guide to Modern Japanese History, Gary D. Allinson presents this much-needed learning resource for students of Japanese society and for lay readers seeking to better understand the economic powerhouse of East Asia during the 150 years that have catapulted it to international preeminence. The Columbia Guide to Modern Japanese History is a unique work in which readers will find: * a balanced narrative treating each facet of Japanese history--political, social, economic, and cultural--across four periods covering the years from 1850 to the present; * an encyclopedia-style topical compendium including more than 150 entries on such key subjects as Japan's emperors, political leaders, business enterprises, social organizations, and leading writers; * excerpts from important historical documents; * a chronology and list of prime ministers, providing easy reference to important historical dates, periods, and people; * an annotated guide to further research, including print, film, and electronic resources. Readily accessible to all readers, Allinson's reference will be one that citizens, teachers, students, and academicians will consult often as they seek information on scores of topics. The Columbia Guide to Modern Japanese History will endure as a valuable reference and learning tool for many years to come.
Handbook to Life in Medieval and Early Modern Japan by William E. Deal
Captures the essence of life in great civilizations of the past. Each volume in this series examines a single civilization, and covers everything from landmark events and monumental achievements to geography and everyday life.
Historical Dictionary of Medieval China by Victor Cunrui Xiong
An important contribution to the reference literature on China, this historical dictionary covers the entire revolutionary period in China. Although existing biographical dictionaries focus on the twentieth century, the Chinese revolutionary movements began in the early nineteenth century. China's defeat in the Opium War (1839-1842) set the conditions for the rise of revolutionary movements, the first being the Taiping Christian Revolution of 1851-1864. Sun Yat-sen's Republican Revolution began in the late nineteenth century and was followed by the Communist Revolution during the second half of the twentieth century. With the Socialist transformation under Mao Tse-tung, the Chinese entered another revolutionary stage. The death of Mao and the end of the Cultural Revolution in 1976 conclude the time period covered in this dictionary. The entries in this volume provide concise accounts and profiles of the people, events, ideas, and other factors that played a role throughout the revolutionary period including sources of additional information. The Dictionary also includes a general bibliography and chronology that provides an overview of the period covered. Cross-references and a full subject index provide access to the material.
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution by Guo Jian; Yongyi Song; Yuan Zhou
When the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) seized power in October 1949 China was one of the poorest nations in the world. In fact, it was so weak it had been conquered by Japan, a country one-tenth its size, a decade earlier. Now, more than fifty years later, the People's Republic of China (PRC) is an emerging economic, political, and military superpower with the world's fastest growing economy and largest population (1.3 billion in 2005). A member of the United Nations Security Council since the early 1970s and a nuclear power, China wields enormous influence in the world community. The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China contains more than 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on individual topics spanning China's political, economic, and social system along with short biographies on important figures--from politicians to writers and movie directors--who have shaped Chinese history during the period of Communist rule from 1949 to 2006. Supplementing the entries are a chronology, an introduction, charts outlining the structure of the Chinese government, and a bibliography of works in English, making this a superb resource for college and high school students needing a quick reference on contemporary China.
Historical Dictionary of Postwar Japan by William D. Hoover
Japan has emerged as a major world player following its defeat in World War II. After recovering from the war, lifting itself onto the stage of the late 20th century world, and jettisoning its cheap, bizarre goods, Japan began to extend its influence into the wider world. The impact was first felt in the economic arena. Japan's production and marketing of high quality products allowed it to gain an important foothold in the world's economy. Japanese products became increasingly recognized for their high quality and reliability, and Japan became dominant in several major technological fields. Japan is a mix of the old and the modern. This book will attempt to introduce the successes and failures of postwar Japan to its readers. Historical Dictionary of Postwar Japan covers the most important aspects of Japan from 1945 through the present. While it emphasizes Japan's politics and its economy, it also has many entries on foreign relations, social issues, and the arts. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on important people, organizations, activities, and events. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about postwar Japan.
Tokyo is Japan's largest city and its capital. It is also one of the largest cities in the world and a major center of global economic influence. The origins of human settlement in what is today Tokyo are lost in prehistory. The city started out quite modestly as a small castle town of Edo in 1457, then the center of the Tokugawa shogunate from 1603-1868, the rapidly modernizing and Westernizing capital of the nation during the Meiji Period (1868-1912), and the capital of a prosperous nation and growing empire thereafter. Tokyo was utterly devastated during World War II, but this was not the first time Tokyo had to start seemingly from new. Due to many fires and earthquakes, the city has constantly rebuilt itself and today it outdoes all its previous emanations by far. The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Tokyo is a much-needed reference source on the city. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 600 cross-referenced dictionary entries on people, places, events, and other terminology about the city of Tokyo. This book is a must for anyone interested in Japan and Tokyo.