Research Guides: SPAN 490: Senior Departmental Studies (HC) Fall 2016: Getting Started

Library Privileges for Seniors

Library Privileges for Seniors
Apply for extended borrowing privileges, search senior theses, and more.

Review Articles & Bibliographies

Review articles or "literature reviews" survey the literature on a give topic or time period. To find review articles, you can search in a journal, such as Annual Reviews dedicated to review articles, or by searching for a topic by keyword and adding terms such as "review" OR "literature review" OR survey (limited to title). In many databases, you should limit your search to "articles/journal" and not to "reviews"—the latter being reviews of particular books rather than review articles. You can also search for dissertations on your topic, which often include extensive literature reviews, many time on subject areas not covered by published literature.

Oxford Bibliographies in Latin American Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated peer-reviwed bibliographies of topics spanning the Latin American studies field, from 16th-Century New Spain to Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas.
Annual Reviews
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of critical review articles capturing the current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported, what is controversial, and where further research is needed.

Wiley Compass Series
Online journals that publish literature reviews on selected topics (e.g., Literature and History). Literature reviews are a particularly useful kind of journal article when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding.

Other Sources for Bibliographies & Literature Reviews

TESIUNAM
Full text access to dissertations written at the National Autonomous University of Mexico.
La Referencia
A network of open-access repositories in Latin America.
Tesis Doctorals en Xarxa
Theses from Spain
DART-Europe E-theses portal
For searching across digital collections of theses in several different European countries, including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Greece.

Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.

Reference Material

Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Introductions to topics in Latin American and Caribbean literature, including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions. (Focus on 1900s-present.)
Credo Reference
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 reference books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, etc., in various fields including art, law, literature, social sciences, and technology.