Research Guides: ENGL 361: New Black Arts Movement (HC): "Class Notes": Background & News Sources

Reference Sources: Best Bets

Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. Features articles by top scholars in the field, images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, maps, charts and tables, and biographies.

Literature Online Reference Suite
(Use hyperlink or the "H" icon for access from Haverford; use the "B" and "S" icons to the right if trying to access to this resource from Bryn Mawr or Swarthmore.)

Additional Reference Sources

Oxford Music Online
Covers all topics related to music, including musical instruments, compositional forms and scientific topics. Biographical entries cover composers, performers and writers. Offers links to related sites including sound archives.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Subject entries, biographies, images, biographies, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).
Literature Resource Center
Provides biographies, bibliographies and scholarly articles on novelists, poets, essayists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of highly-studied authors.

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Poets and Poetry
ISBN: 031332381X
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
The most comprehensive reference on American poetry ever assembled, this encyclopedia includes more than 900 alphabetically arranged entries, contributed by approximately 350 scholars. Written for students and general readers, the set covers poetry from the colonial era to the present, devoting special attention to contemporary poets and their works. Multicultural in scope, the encyclopedia covers poets, genres, critics, poetic terms, and movements. Its entries range from Caribbean to Confessional Poetry, from Dada to Eco-poetics, from Gay and Lesbian Poetry to Literary Magazines, New Formalism, and more.

Web Searching

The background sources listed above will most often be your best starting points, but you can also improve your web searches—if you need to turn to Google for additional information—by employing these search tips.

News Sources

See the News Sources guide for additional (including region-specific) sources.

New York Times
Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Coverage from 1851-present.
Washington Post
This is the most widely circulated newspaper published in the capital city of the United States with particular emphasis on national politics.
Access World News
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for nearly 8,000 newspapers around the globe. Database covers 1977-present.
Philadelphia Inquirer
The daily newspaper of record for the Philadelphia region. Online coverage 1860 to the present.