Research Guides: ENGL 320: Early Modern Sensation (HC) Fall 2016: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Use these databases to find journal articles, which often contain more recent scholarship than published books. See the Search Tips tab for further information on how to construct your searches.

The button will help you find full-text copies of the articles, either online or in print. Use the Article Delivery request form for ordering material not held by the tri-college libraries.

The best resource with which to start is the MLA International Bibliography, which indexes articles, books, book chapters, and other resources and is the most comprehensive source for literary criticism.

Literature

MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Modern Humanities Research Association's (MHRA) Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) indexes books, pamphlets, dissertations, and articles from 1300 English-language periodicals, arranging listings by period with an author/subject index at the back. Citations to book reviews appear with entries for books, making it easier to check critical opinion when evaluating a book's scholarship.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, production reviews, audiovisual materials, electronic media and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. Covers works published or produced between 1963 to the present.

Multidisciplinary

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Project Muse journals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
ProQuest (all databases)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest-owned databases at your institution.

Art & Art History

Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
International Bibliography of Art
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; visual arts, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history; scholarship from 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. International coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications.

Politics & History

Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.

Bibliography of British and Irish history
Indexes historical writing in journal articles and essays dealing with the British Isles during all periods of history. Note that you can specify the exact time period that you are searching.