ENGL 320: Early Modern Sensation (HC) Fall 2016

Features essays discussing material culture, sectarian writing, the history of the body, theatre both in and outside the playhouses, law, gardens, and ecology in early modern England. Includes recommendations for further reading.

Comprises over 400 entries ranging from 1000 to 5000 words written by leading international scholars. Arranged in A-Z format across three fully indexed and cross-referenced volumes Provides coverage of canonical authors and their works, as well as a variety of previously under-considered areas, including women writers, broadside ballads, commonplace books, and other popular literary forms.

Delves into the sensory foundations of Western civilization, taking a comprehensive period-by-period approach, which provides a broad understanding of the life of the senses from antiquity to the modern day. The volumes treat such topics as the sensory markers of gender and class, the aesthetic dimensions of material culture, religious sensibilities, the medical uses of the senses and their representation in art and literature. These investigations bring out the sensations and values which defined experience in a particular era and shaped the world view of the time.

Employing a wide range of approaches from various disciplines, contributors to this volume explore the diverse ways in which European art and cultural practice from the 14th through the 17th centuries confronted, interpreted, represented and evoked the realm of the sensual.

This field-defining collection consolidates and builds momentum in the burgeoning area of affect studies. The contributors include many of the central theorists of affect--those visceral forces beneath, alongside, or generally other than conscious knowing that can serve to drive us toward movement, thought, and ever-changing forms of relation.

Taking as its chronological starting-point the female body of late medieval devotional literature, this volume considers the representation of gendered bodies in later literature. It then proceeds to examine 16th-century occupational orderings of the (male) body in education, the civil service and the army, and involves explorations into a variety of rituals for the purification, ordering and disciplining of the flesh.

Offers the first systematic analysis of the representation of the body in literature. It historicizes embodiment by charting our evolving understanding of the body from the Middle Ages to the present day, and addresses such questions as sensory perception, technology, language and affect; maternal bodies, disability and the representation of ageing; eating and obesity, pain, death and dying; and racialized and posthuman bodies.

A Cultural History of The Human Body presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. This set of six volumes covers 2800 years of the human body as a physical, social, spiritual and cultural object.

This is a wide-ranging collection of essays on ancient Roman literary careers and their reception in later European literature. Starting from the three major Roman models for constructing a literary career - Virgil (the rota Vergiliana), Horace, and Ovid - the volume then looks at alternative and counter-models in antiquity: Propertius, Juvenal, Cicero and Pliny. A range of post-antique responses to the ancient patterns are examined, including Petrarch, Shakespeare, Milton, Marvell, and Dryden.

Originally published in 1949, Gilbert Highet's seminal The Classical Tradition is a herculean feat of comparative literature and a landmark publication in the history of classical reception. As Highet states in the opening lines of his Preface, this book outlines "the chief ways in which Greekand Latin influence has moulded the literatures of western Europe and America"

Ranging across scholarly disciplines, this work shows that urbanisation, capitalism, Protestantism, colonialism, empirical science and optical technologies conspired to alienate people from both the earth and reality itself in the 17th century, and that this is crucial in understanding the artwork of the time.

• Includes a chapter on "Marvell's garden and the mowers"

Addresses and reassesses the variety of ways in which animals were used and thought about in Renaissance culture, challenging contemporary as well as historic views of the boundaries and hierarchies humans presume the natural world to contain.

History of human-animal relations from ancient times to the present.

Employing a wide range of approaches from various disciplines, contributors to this volume explore the diverse ways in which European art and cultural practice from the 14th through the 17th centuries confronted, interpreted, represented and evoked the realm of the sensual.

Provides a wide-ranging account of the history of the book and its ways of thinking about works from ancient inscription to contemporary e-books, discussing thematic, chronological and methodological aspects of this interdisciplinary field.

History of the book, including early modern printing and circulation.