Research Guides: ENGL 320: Early Modern Sensation (HC) Fall 2016: Special Collections

Milton and Marvell

Paradise lost: A poem written in ten books
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
London: Printed, and are to be sold by Peter Parker ... and by Robert Boulter ... and Matthias Walker ..., 1667
- First edition, first issue of Paradise Lost
- In HC and BMC Special Collections
Paradise regain'd: a poem in IV books to which is added Samson Agonistes
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
London: Printed by J.M. for John Starkey, 1671
- First edition of Milton's Paradise Regained
- In HC and BMC Special Collections
The poetical works of Milton
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Edinburgh : Printed by Sands, Murray, and Cochran for A. Kincaid and A. Donaldson, 1755.
The works of Andrew Marvell, esq
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"poetical, controversial, and political, containing many original letters, poems, and tracts, never before printed."
London : Printed for the editor, by H. Baldwin, sold by Dodsley [etc.], 1776.

Political Writings of Milton and Marvell

The cabinet-council
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authors: Sir Walter Raleigh and John Milton (1658)
A manual of political and military statecraft with advice for governments.
Ionnis Miltoni Angli Pro popvlo anglicano defensio
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: John Milton (1650)
Milton wrote this "defense of the English people" rebutted monarchical arguments and defended the execution of Charles I.
Joannis Miltoni Angli Pro populo anglicano defensio secunda
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: John Milton (1654
Addressed to Europe, this work compares the English to the Greeks and Romans and encourages them to vigilantly guard their liberty.
Considerations touching the likeliest means to remove hirelings out of the church
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: John Milton (1743)
This work argues against tithes, which Milton saw as benefiting both the national church (which he opposed) as well as large landholders.
An account of the growth of popery: and arbitrary government in England
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Andrew Marvell (1678?)
In this influential pamphlet, Marvell alleges that there has been a campaign to turn England into a tyrannical, "popish" state.
The rehearsal transpros'd
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Andrew Marvell (1672)
An attack on Samuel Parker, a fierce opponent of the Dissenters.
The rehearsall transpros'd, the second part
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Andrew Marvell (1673)
The second part of the pamphlet above, including responses to letters Marvell received.

Spenser and Shakespeare

M. William Shake-speare, his True chronicle history of the life and death of King Lear and his three daughters
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"with the unfortunate life of Edgar, sonne and heire to the Earle of Glocester, and his sullen and assumed humour of Tom of Bedlam, as it was plaid before the Kings Maiesty at White-hall, uppon S. Stephens night, in Christmas hollidaies, by his Maiesties seruants, playing usually at the Globe on the Banck-side."
London] : Printed for Nathaniel Butter, 1608 i.e. 1619.
Second quarto edition.
Mr. VVilliam Shakespeares comedies, histories, & tragedies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The "First Folio" or first collected edition of Shakespeare, "published according to the true original copies."
London : Printed by Isaac Iaggard and Ed. Blount, 1623.
Special Collections also holds the other three folios.
The faerie queene
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
London : Printed for William Ponsonbie, 1590-1596.
First edition.
Colin Clouts come home againe
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
London : Printed for William Ponsonbie, 1595.
First edition of this pastoral poem.

Descartes

Principia philosophiae
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Amstelodami, 1692.
Specimina philosophiae
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"ultima editis cum optima collata, diligenter recognita, et mendis expurgata"
Amstelodami, 1692.
Passiones animae
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"gallicé abipso conscriptae, nunc autem in exterorum gratiam latina"
Amstelodami, 1692.
Epistol︠ae︡
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"partim ab auctore Latino sermone conscriptae, partim ex Gallico translatae"
Amstelodami, 1668-78.

Classical Authors

Seneca moralis
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Seneca's Opera philosophica, Epistolae, etc.
Impressum Venetiis : per B. de Cremona & S. de Luero, die V otobris, 1490.
Les épistres de Seneqve
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A Lyon : chez Clavde la Riviere, MDCLII.
91 letters, with a dedicatory epistle by I. B. deBoyer.
Seneca's Morals by way of abstract
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
London : printed for Joseph Hindmarsh at the Golden-Ball against the Royal-Exchange in Cornhil, 1693.
The fifth edition. To which is added, a discourse, under the title of An after-thought.
La poëtique d'Aristote
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"contenant les regles les plus exactes pour juger du poëme heroïque, & des pieces de theatre la tragedie & la comedie."
À Paris : Chez Claude Barbin, M.DC.XCII.
Publii Ovidii Nasonis De Tristibus libri V
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Londini, G. Sayes, 1719.
P. Ouidii Nasonis dess aller Sinreichsten Poeten Metamorphosos
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Meynz, 1551.
Metamorphoses in German.
Ovid's Metamorphosis
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
London : Printed by R. Young are to be sold by J. Grismond, 1628.
The love books of Ovid
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
London, J. Lane, the Bodley Head, 1925.
Illustrated.
The Metamorphoses of Ovid
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New York, G. Braziller in association with Magdalene College, Cambridge, 1968.
Facsimile of the Caxton translation from 1480.

Political tracts and pamphlets

Eikōn basilikē: The pourtraicture of His sacred Majestie in his solitudes and sufferings. Whereunto are annexed his praiers and apophthegms, &c.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authors (?): John Gauden ; King Charles I (1649)
- This purported spiritual autobiography of King Charles I (true authorship disputed) presents a justification of royalism and the King's political and military program that led to the Civil War. A very popular piece of Royalist propaganda after Charles' execution, Milton directly responds to it in his Eikonoklastes .
- HC Special Collections and Online Copies
Observations upon some of his Majesties late answers and expresses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Henry Parker, 1642
- Perhaps the most significant political tract of the early years of the English Civil War, and enormously influential on subsequent political debate. Parker establishes the ideological basis for Parliament's sovereignty from King Charles.
- BMC Special Collections and Online Copies
Jus populi. Or, A discourse wherein clear satisfaction is given, as well concerning the right of subjects, as the right of princes
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1644
Author: Henry Parker; published anonymously
- Parker's most theoretical defense of Parliament, argues that natural law ought to be the basis of political power. HC Copy and Online
Lilburne's tracts, 1647-56
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
John Lilburne, 1646-52
- Bound collection of 11 original tracts by Leveller John Lilburne, progressive advocate for "freeborn rights." HC Copy
An agreement of the free people of England: Tendered as a peace-offering to this distressed nation
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authors: John Lilburne et al. (1649)
Revised version of the 1647 manifesto, expresses the Levellers' goals for a new English Constitution. HC Copy
London's liberty in chains discovered
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: John Lilburne (1646)
Prominent Leveller John Lilburne attacks the Long Parliament for restricting the civil and religious freedoms of Londoners. HC and Online Copies
Animadversions upon Iohn Lilburnes two last books, the one intituled Londons liberty in chaines discovered. the other An anatomy of the Lords cruelty
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Simon Sheppard (1646)
Sheppard, attacks Lilburne's London's Liberty in Chains Discovered on behalf of the Long Parliament. HC and Online Copies
A political catechism; or, Certain questions concerning the government of this land, answered in his Majesties [!] own words taken out of his answer to the 19 propositions
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Henry Parker (1643)
Charles I responds to major questions of the Parliamentarians. HC, BMC, and Online Copies
The Kings cavse, rationally, briefly, and plainly debated, as it stands de facto: Against the irrationall, groundlesse misprisions of a still deceived sort of people
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: John Doughty, 1644
- Defends the power of the monarchy in the early stage of the war.
- HC Special Collections and Online Copies
Tom-tell-troth; or, A free discovrse tovching the mvrmvrs of the times, directed to His Majesty, by way of hvmble advertisement
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Anonymous (1642)
- Anonymous pamphlet warning King Charles I of the "general current of discontent that runs with such a seditious noise over the whole kingdom" immediately prior to the outbreak of civil war.
- In HC Special Collections and Online
The breaking of the day of God / Fire in the bush / A vindication of those, whose endeavors is only to make the earth a common treasury, called diggers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Gerrard Winstanley (1648)
- Texts related to the Diggers movement. Three distinct original texts bound together.
The cry of a stone: or A relation of something spoken in Whitehall
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Anna Trapnell (1654)
Prophecies from religious radical Anna Trapnell, self-styled prophetess. Text is sharply critical of Cromwell's government and established churches, and advocates for more rights for women. Trapnell's supposed prophecies made her a celebrity.

HC Print and Online Copies
The Kings cavse, rationally, briefly, and plainly debated
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: John Doughty (1644)
A defense of absolute monarchy by a vicar.
Three speeches spoken in Gvild-hall, concerning His Majesties refusall of a treaty of peace, and what is to be done thereupon
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Authors: Robert Greville, Baron Brooke and Sir Henry Vane (1642)
The speeches are by a Cromwellian parliamentarian and a Roundhead general.
The declaration and vindication of Isaack Pennington, now Lord Mayor of the Citie of London
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Isaac Pennington (1643)
Arguing for the author's loyalty to the King and against the "scandalous" pamphlets that have been circulating about him.
The popish royall favourite
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: William Prynne (1643)
Argues that the King is supporting Catholics, priests, and Jesuits, and attempting to get rid of Protestantism.
The fore-runner of revenge
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: George Eglisham (1642)
Eglisham, a Scottish poet and physician, alleges that the Duke of Buckingham poisoned King James and James Hamilton.
A new discovery of the prelates tyranny
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: William Prynne (1641)
The author was a supporter of the Parliamentary cause.
Honesty's best policy; or, Penitence the sum of prudence
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Marchamont Nedham (1677)
Nedham wrote news and propaganda for both sides during the Civil War; this pamphlet is about the Earl of Shaftsbury.
Londons liberty in chains discovered
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: John Lilburne (1646)
Lilburne was imprisoned in the Tower of London in 1846 for denouncing the Earl of Manchester as a traitor and Royalist.
A remonstrance of many thousand citizens: and other free-born people of England, to their own House of Commons, occasioned through the illegall and barbarous imprisonment of ... John Lilburne
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also published in 1646.
The Christian man's triall: or, A true relation of the first apprehension and severall examinations of John Lilburne
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: John Lilburne (1641)
An account of Lilburne's first trial, which has been cited as a foundation for the U.S. 5th amendment and Miranda rights.
Campo-musae, or The field-musings of Captain George Wither
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: George Wither (1644)
Wither was a poet, satirist, and the writer of numerous political pamphlets.
His Majesties message to both Houses of Parliament, from the Isle of Wight
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Author: Charles I (1647)
The material contained in this pamphlet was read in the House of Commons at covers "religion, church-government, the militia, the arreares of the Army, the Court of Wards and Liveries, and other things."