EALC 231: Premodern Japanese Literature (HC)

This unique synthetic history of Japan's "middle ages" is a remarkable portrait of a complex period in the evolution of Japan. Using a wide variety of sources -- ranging from legal and historical texts to artistic and literary examples -- to form a detailed overview of medieval Japanese society, Souyri demonstrates the interconnected nature of medieval Japanese culture while providing an animated account of the era's religious, intellectual, and literary practices.

A Companion to Japanese History provides an authoritative overview of current debates and approaches within the study of Japan's history. Composed of 30 chapters written by an international group of scholars.

Donald Keene's history of Japanese literature covers courtly fiction, Buddhist writings, war tales, diaries, poems, and more.

The Princeton Companion to Classical Japanese Literature includes introductory materials to Japanese literature up to 1868.

Comprehensive encyclopedia of Japan. These include encyclopedia standards such as history, literature, art, religion, economy, and geography. In addition, science, technology, law, women, folklore, plant and animal life, food, clothing, sports, and leisure are given separate categories.

Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre is the only dictionary that offers detailed comprehensive coverage of the most important terms, people, and plays in the four principal traditional Japanese theatrical forms n, ky gen, bunraku, and kabuki supplemented with individual historical essays on each form. This updated edition adds well over 200 plot summaries representing each theatrical form in addition to: .a chronology; .introductory essay; .appendixes; .an extensive bibliography; .over 1500 cross-referenced entries on important terms; .brief biographies of the leading artists and writers; .and plot summaries of significant plays. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the Japanese theatre."

This reference book is a comprehensive guide to the fascinating world of kabuki.