Research Guides: EALC 231: Premodern Japanese Literature (HC): Finding books and articles

Finding Books

Tripod
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tripod now searches for individual journal articles as well as the Tri-College libraries’ collection of books, journal titles, multimedia materials, databases and more.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Oxford Bibliographies

The Oxford Bibliographies Online is a good place to start to find the top scholars and resources in the field. Here are some articles that might be of use to you as your search for resources.

Japan by Bonnie Wade
Buddhism and Gender by Rita M. Gross
Chan Literature by Jeffrey L. Broughton
Chinese Texts in Pre-Modern East and South-East Asia by Peter Kornicki
Printing and Book Culture by Cynthia Brokaw

Fundamental Databases

No matter what your topic is the following databases should be searched.

Articles in Tripod
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.
Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature. It's best usage is to see who has cited a specific article or book. When you search for an article for example, beneath the results is a row including the phrase "Cited by __" and a number. You can often gauge the scholarly debates by looking here.
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Includes publications from 1953-present.
Swarthmore has access to the full text.
Project Muse journals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.