Extremely rich site for understanding the art of a particular region and time. Use the Time Period and Geographic menus to see key Works of Art, Related Exhibitions, and, under Related Content, Thematic Essays.
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
Covers journal articles and other titles about art published through 2007. For more recent material, see the International Bibliography of Art available at BMC and Swarthmore.
Auto da Fe
Paintings and prints from Spain and Mexico provide valuable evidence about the ways those in power wanted the Inquisition represented.
Madrid School, 1653, Museo del Greco (Wikimedia Commons)
A digital library that provides access to thousands of digital images derived from a variety of museum, library and archival collections. Images support a variety of disciplines including architecture, painting, sculpture, decorative arts, and design.
First-time users click on GO then NOT REGISTERED? to enter your e-mail address and password. You will receive confirmation shortly.
Colonial Latin America Curriculum Guide
ArtStor provides 13 thematic groups of images curated by Latin American historian, Rachel Moore. The groups range in time from the first colonial encounters through the age of independence. The images convey important historical information and represent a variety of view points.
Themes treated include metizaje, politics, religion, and material culture. "The website provides a gallery of more than 100 color images, interpretive essays, and a searchable bibliography on visual culture."
