Research Guides: SPAN 312: Inquiring Minds (HC) Fall 2014: Textual Sources

Online Source Collections

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
This digitized collection is part of the Biblioteca Nacional de Espana. A search on "inquisicion" brings up manuscripts and printed books including ones concerning Latin America.
Catálogo Colectivo de Impresos Latinoamericanos
This online catalog is gathering records for all books printed in Latin America prior to 1851 as well as books in Spanish published in the United States and the Philippines. Later it plans to provide full-text access for titles.
Colecciones Mexicanas
Provides access to collections and digitized images of documents and books from major libraries in Mexico. Note in particular the Archivo Franciscano.
Cornell University Witchcraft Collection
Includes 104 English-language books available full text.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. This collection contains about 100,000 titles including books, pamphlets, manuscripts and newspapers. Among them are translations of titles originally written in Spanish as well as English titles concerning many different aspects of Spanish and Latin American culture.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 including books, pamphlets, almanacs, Bibles and treatises. Includes English translations of titles originally written in Spanish.

Hispana: collecciones digitales de archivos, bibliotecas y museos españoles
Access to over five million digital objects from over 200 repositories in Spain. A project of the Ministry of Culture. (Searchable database of documents, facsimiles, transcriptions, photos, and more.)
Inquisitio: Manuscript and Print Sources for the Study of Inquisition History
This collection at the Notre Dame University Library is profiled online with a few key items fully digitized.
Portal de Archivos Españoles
This is a very rich source of digitized manuscripts concerning the inquisition. Use the advance search to specify dates and keywords. Also choose the Registros digitalizados only to look at documents that you can access immediately.
Sourcebook on Colonial Latin America (Fordham University)
This project is under development but includes documents and letters concerning the Jesuits in colonial Latin America.

Sources in Printed Form

Sources that have been edited, reprinted in facsimiles, or transferred to microfilm can be borrowed through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan if they are not in Tripod. Many of them will be listed in Tripod or WorldCat under subject terms and the word "sources." For example, the search inquisition sources produces books including:

The Inquisition in New Spain, 1536-1820: A Documentary History

The Spanish Inquisition, 1478-1614: An Anthology of Sources [also in an ebook]

Inquisitorial Inquiries: Brief Lives of Secret Jews and Other Heretics

Manuscripts and rare books about the Inquisition are available in Philadelphia-area libraries. See in particular the Henry Charles Lea collection in the Rare Book Room at the University of Pennsylvania. Lea did pioneering work on the history of the Inquisition. The finding aid for the Lea Research Collection indicates the range of manuscripts available both from Spain and Latin America.

Archives around the World

Inquisition Archives Worldwide
The University of Notre Dame Rare Books Library maintains this list of libraries in Europe, Latin America and the United States. It also includes selected web and print resources.

Tools for Working with Texts

La escritura y lo escrito: paleografía y diplomática de España y América en los siglos XVI y XVII
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This guide is based on a six-week long course at the Newberry Library. Not only does if give guidance on transcribing handwritten texts, but it also explains the different forms and literary formulas involved in early modern Spanish documents.
A Paleographic Guide to Spanish Abbreviations, 1500-1700 =: Una guía paleográfica de abreviaturas Españolas
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reproduces hundreds of abbreviations found in Spanish documents from the early modern period. The full spelling of each abbreviated word is provided.
Spanish Script Tutorial - Handwritten Samples
This website for genealogists introduces Spanish paleography including this range of examples showing the shapes of individual letters.
Guide to Documentary Sources for Andean Studies, 1530-1900
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes essays on the different kinds of documents- governmental, ecclesiastic, and legal- created and collected in Peru and surrounding areas.
Diccionario crítico etimológico de la lengua castellana
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This four volume set provides histories of word origins along with a citation to the earliest known appearance of the word in writing.
Diccionario de la lengua española
This scholarly dictionary is made available by the Real Academia Española.
Nuevo Diccionario Histórico del Español
This recent historical dictionary is made available by the Real Academia Española.