Emma Cadbury (1875-1965) was known for her commitment to international work for the Friends' association. This manuscript collection contains various types of documents, including documentation of her attendance at Women's Yearly Meetings and several essays.
Anna Shipley Cox Brinton was a well-known Quaker activist and minister. Included in this manuscript collection is correspondence between Brinton and various other prominent Quaker figures as well as several notebooks from her projects and travels.
Rebecca Singer Collins was an established Quaker activist and philanthropist who traveled throughout Europe. This manuscript collection contains primarily correspondence and also several diaries documenting Collins' life.
Contains the papers of Blanche Weber Shaffer, a Swiss Quaker who was involved with the Friends World Committee for Consultation and devoted her life to fostering relationships between Quakers throughout the globe
Contains the journals and documents of Alice M. Gitchell from the Women's Committee of the 1985 Philadelphia Yearly Meeting. These include personal writings, documentation of day to day activities, reflections on religion, and drafts of the Women's Committee's statement on abortion rights.
Contains the papers of Margaret Bacon, a prominant Quaker author, including documents relating to the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, the Friends Historical Library, the Fair Hill Board, Farmington Meeting House, and Fair Hill Burial Grounds.
Members of the Morris-Shinn-Maier family, the Newhalls have produced a large quantity of quaker-related materials, including commonplace books. Mary Newhall has at least four volumes in this collection, while Abby Newhall and Hannah Johnson Newhall also have their own volumes. Hannah Johnson Newhall was the mother of both Abby and Mary.
McClenachan was a member of the Morris-Shinn-Maier family, and has several pieces of ephemera in the collection. Her commonplace book is entitled, "A birthday Present with a Sister's Love," and contains various copied poems and clippings. It is dated from 1826.
This collection contains the commonplace books of Sarah Pike, a prominent Quaker woman who was married to Thomas Scattergood. This commonplace book is comprised primarily of hand-written copies of poems and spiritual quotations.
Included in this collection is the commonplace book of Mary Morton, which demonstrates her diverse set of interests. Morton was very interested in family and Quaker issues, and wrote poetry reflecting the time period.
This collection focuses primarily on the lives of the family of Seth Smith, and includes the commonplace book of Mary Emlen. Her commonplace book includes a few extracts from both letters and notes regarding prominent Quakers. Emlen worked out of the Philadelphia area.
Essays and Tracts
A Brief Treatise of Religious Womens Meetings, Services & Testimonies
This essay provides an argument in support of women's Quaker meetings and the possibility for women ministers. It uses textual evidence taken from scripture. Written by Hugh Wood, this work was published in 1684.
A Brief Account of the Lately Intended Visit of Two Female Preachers
Written by Henry Fry and published in 1824, this essay was written in response to the visit of two female ministers to the Borough of Overton, Hants. The piece is broken into three major sections, one addressing becoming a Quaker minister in general, the next supporting the eligibility of women to become preachers, and the final discussing travels and visits to various areas.
VVomens speaking justified, proved and allowed of by the Scriptures ...
Written by Margaret Fell and published in 1667 calling for women to be able to speak at Quaker meetings. Margaret Fell was a prominent supporter of women Quaker ministers, and was a well-known figure in early Quakerism.
Full title: Some seasonable considerations to the young men and women who in this day of tryal are made willing to offer up themselves, estates or liberty, and suffer reproaches ... to bear testimony for the life, light and truth of Jesus Christ
A vvoman forbidden to speak in the church, the grounds examined, the mystery opened, the truth cleared, and the ignorance both of priests, and people discovered
Written in Richard Famworth and published in 1654, this tract from the Jenks Collection critically analyzes the belief that women should not be allowed to speak during meetings. Famworth puts out the argument that during meetings the most important consideration for speaking must be the truth.
Rebecca Jones was an active female Quaker minister during the eighteenth century. She was known for her work towards assisting the poor, and was a major figure in Philadelphia Quakerism during her time. This biography provides a narrative for her life.
Margaret Fell (afterwards Margaret Fox): the Mother of the Early Quaker Church
Margaret Fell was a prominent figure in the beginnings of Quakerism. She is well-known for her adamant support movements towards allowing women to be ministers of the church. This biography was published in 1908 and was written by James Herbert Midgley.
Mary Fisher: or, the Quaker Maiden and the Grand Turk; with other poems
Mary Fisher was one of the first traveling Quaker ministers. She was originally converted by George Fox and eventually traveled to the New World to share her Gospel there. This book of poetry was published in 1875 and contains poems related to Mary Fisher and her travels.
The woman-preacher of Samaria; a better preacher, and more sufficiently qualified to preach than any of the men-preachers of the man-made-ministry in these three nations
Written by George Keith in 1674, this tract discusses the merit of a particular woman minister, and her superior abilities to some of her male counterparts. Keith goes on to make the argument against having women be entirely silent in meetings and in general in faith.
Martha Routh (1743-1817)was recognized a minister in 1773. The journal describes her voyage from London to Boston, which she took in 1794. Entries describe the small group of Quakers that Routh traveled with, including Thomas Scattergood, as well as descriptions of the weather,communications with other ships during the journey, and Routh's struggles with illness on board.
Sarah Frances Smiley was a convinced (i.e. converted) Quaker, and was recorded a minister in 1866. Entries describe Quaker meetings, and Smiley’s ongoing struggles with her religious conviction and her dedication to God.
Elizabeth Webb (1663-1726) was born in 1663 in Wiltshire, England and was originally baptized in the Church of England. She was convinced (converted to Quakerism) as a young woman and became an involved member of the Society of Friends in England. Webb went on her first religious visit to the American colonies from 1697-1699.
Elizabeth Wilkinson (1712-1771) and first appeared in the ministry in 1760. Wilkinson
traveled as a minister on religious visits to the American colonies from 1761-1763, and to Scotland and Ireland upon her return from America.
Elizabeth Ashbridge (1713-1755) was a Quaker minister who traveled on religious visits to the American Colonies and Ireland. Her autobiography includes a description of Ashbridge's early life, how she was lead to join the Quaker ministry, and her first religious visit to New York in 1732.